I want some SLOP in the drive train! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > I want some SLOP in the drive train!

RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all Introducing MONSTALINERô UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineJeep Wrangler Bushwacker Flat Fender Flare Sale at Baselin

Unread 09-20-2012, 06:39 AM   #1
Manhattan
1981 CJ8 

I want some SLOP in the drive train!

I've had several CJs - all manuals, e.g. T-150, 176, No autos. I just started driving the CJ I've been building for the past 4+ years. And it's taking some getting used to. Help me out - tell me this is normal... ish.

Details:
- Fuel injected 5.7 (fresh rebuild, stock L05 specs)
- SM465 (fresh rebuild) driven as a 3-speed
- D300 (fresh rebuild)
- 20/30 (fresh rebuild) Detroits, 4.56 gears
- New driveshaft and joints
- 35s

On the plus side, I'm loving the power and throttle response... I think. The thing is, I feel like I'm either decelerating or accelerating. Even at 1500 RPM, any movement of the throttle is a bit of a jolt - forward or backward. Does that make sense?

My other vehicle is 100 Series Land Cruiser (auto of course). It's been 5 years since I've driven a CJ. Have I just gotten spoiled by insulated, muted, viscous-coupled drive trains?

Unread 09-20-2012, 07:21 AM   #2
mylittlecj5
1974 CJ5 

have you tried adjusting/rebuilding the linkage of the throttle to allow more pedal movement in before/while the throttle moves?
Other than that, it sounds like you have just gotten too used to the feel of an auto, and are experiencing a 'new' feel of the manual transmission to me.
Default Jeepers Club #10
mylittlecj5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-20-2012, 08:24 PM   #3
cjjon7
1983 CJ7