I-6 'TeamRush Upgrade' (definitive) - Page 12 - JeepForum.com

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #166 of 730 Old 05-17-2009, 10:23 PM
Fjguercio
Web Wheeler
1978 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 2,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by nazdackster View Post
Jeephammer - question: One of the first things I did when I got my '84 was power wash the engine. It wouldn't start after that, so I took apart the distributor and it had some moisture in it. Turns out I had knocked a ground wire off some part of the ignition with the wand, and once I fixed that it was fine (and clean!)...
When you power wash a engine.....
It should be warm, not hot, so the grease is easier to get off, I use a engine degreaser too. The trick it to take 1-2 plastic bags (more than 1 layer) and rubber bands and cover up the distirubtor cap and alternator and top of carb/entrance throat. Put the bags in place and try not to soak with degreaser or the water when you pressure wash..

You can toast the alternator if you get it wet, and strand your self by sparying the distirbutor cap.

I have done this lots, hope it helps,

Fred

Fjguercio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #167 of 730 Old 05-27-2009, 09:16 PM
jon1371usmc
Registered User
2004 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 305
Can you use the Jeep OEM wires for the team rush upgrade or do you have to get a different set? The reason I ask is that I just purchased a brand new set of wires for my Jeep before I came across this post.
jon1371usmc is offline  
post #168 of 730 Old 05-28-2009, 11:03 AM Thread Starter
JeepHammer
Running On Empty...
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West Indiana
Posts: 11,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon1371usmc View Post
Can you use the Jeep OEM wires for the team rush upgrade or do you have to get a different set? The reason I ask is that I just purchased a brand new set of wires for my Jeep before I came across this post.
If they are 'Brand New' take them back and trade them in as not being the correct ones.

The plug wires you use with the TearRush upgrade have different ends than the factory wires.
The Factory distributor cap has 'Socket' type connectors,
And the Upgraded cap & plug wires have 'Spark Plug' type terminals.

REMEMBER,
'Free' internet information is worth EXACTLY what you paid for it!
LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JeepHammer is offline  
post #169 of 730 Old 05-28-2009, 11:32 AM
genghisman
Registered User
2002 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Phenix City, AL
Posts: 251
I just did this upgrade from a crappy CRT HEI clone, and I could barely do 50-55 without the engine fighting me. Now, I can maintain a 60-65mph with no trouble at all. I messed up a connection, but got it figured out with JeepHammer's help, now I am very happy I did it.

2004-2006 - Member of 3 BSTB, 3BDE 3ID
2006-2011 - Member of the 1st BN 15IN Reg. "Can Do", 3BDE 3ID
2011-Present - Medically Retired, disabled veteran
Iraqi Freedom 3 and 5 Vet
genghisman is offline  
post #170 of 730 Old 07-02-2009, 12:05 PM
cmcstotts
Registered User
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: rome, ga
Posts: 69
JeepHammer I have a 1976 cj5 with I-6 258 and prestolite ignition. I actually had started a new thread before I found this one. I want to do a complete upgrade. I was looking at the DUI all in one package for around $300. Seems pricey but it looks to be an easy install for someone like me. However, I dont know if it is a good quality install. What do you think?

After reading your post I think I might be able to do this choice:
2. Second Choice,
Would be for the 'Full On' Ignition,

'78 or '79 Reman Distributor for CJ with I-6 engine,
This will give you the Jeep/Motorcraft distributor that is upgradeable,

Cap Adapter, Cap, Rotor, Plug Wires from the 'TeamRush' upgrade,

CDI module, And a Coil of some sort (even your Prestolite coil will work).
I am thinking of trying your install.
cmcstotts is offline  
post #171 of 730 Old 07-02-2009, 01:41 PM
OSUAV8R
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 240
Hammer, I have a I6 with the Mopar kit on it. I will upgrade my cap rotor and wires... but do I need a new coil? Why is the summit box better than the MSD?

I am looking at a new module I had the Jacobs box but I threw it out it was junk.. and that was before the Mopar install

Thanks

Nate
OSUAV8R is offline  
post #172 of 730 Old 07-04-2009, 09:36 PM
OSUAV8R
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 240
Hammer, with the mopar kit on.. do I need the new cap? It seems that the TR upgrade makes a big difference on the carb equipped jeeps.. do YJ owners (the mopar kit is basically a 94 YJ set up) do the TR upgrade as well?
OSUAV8R is offline  
post #173 of 730 Old 07-05-2009, 12:09 AM Thread Starter
JeepHammer
Running On Empty...
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West Indiana
Posts: 11,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmcstotts View Post
JeepHammer I have a 1976 cj5 with I-6 258 and prestolite ignition. I actually had started a new thread before I found this one. I want to do a complete upgrade. I was looking at the DUI all in one package for around $300. Seems pricey but it looks to be an easy install for someone like me. However, I dont know if it is a good quality install. What do you think?

After reading your post I think I might be able to do this choice:
2. Second Choice,
Would be for the 'Full On' Ignition,

'78 or '79 Reman Distributor for CJ with I-6 engine,
This will give you the Jeep/Motorcraft distributor that is upgradeable,

Cap Adapter, Cap, Rotor, Plug Wires from the 'TeamRush' upgrade,

CDI module, And a Coil of some sort (even your Prestolite coil will work).
I am thinking of trying your install.
Going this way, you will have about the same amount of money in the install,
BUT,
You will have 500% to 1,000% more USEABLE Spark Energy over any HEI clone...

$300 or $400 is a bunch to spend for just another factory style, single fire ignition system that has it's own problems...

By going with the factory Jeep/Motorcraft distributor,
Large cap and rotor,
Reasonable plug wires,
Good coil,
And CDI module,
You have a completely modular system that is a serious ignition compared to an HEI clone that is simply a single fire unit with VERY limited spark energy.
-----------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by OSUAV8R View Post
Hammer, I have a I6 with the Mopar kit on it.

I will upgrade my cap rotor and wires... but do I need a new coil?
Nope, you can use the same coil, not a problem on the I-6 engines.

Quote:
Why is the summit box better than the MSD?
It's not.
It's just cheaper, they are essentially one in the same since the Summit/Mallory boxes are just clones of the MSD 6 series modules.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OSUAV8R View Post
Hammer, with the mopar kit on.. do I need the new cap?

It seems that the TR upgrade makes a big difference on the carb equipped jeeps.. do YJ owners (the mopar kit is basically a 94 YJ set up) do the TR upgrade as well?
Short, rotors let your ignition energy leak to ground inside the distributor, you need a TALL rotor to get the high voltage up and away from the distributor shaft/housing.

Small diameter caps have terminals that are WAY too close together, so your spark energy can jump to the WRONG spark plug terminal...

The cap and rotor upgrade will get your spark energy going out to the CORRECT spark plug, and at the correct time, rather than firing the wrong plug or jumping to ground and doing nothing.

There are a BUNCH of other reasons, but these are the easiest to understand...

REMEMBER,
'Free' internet information is worth EXACTLY what you paid for it!
LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JeepHammer is offline  
post #174 of 730 Old 07-06-2009, 11:30 AM
cmcstotts
Registered User
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: rome, ga
Posts: 69
Thanks Jeephammer
I will attempt to upgrade using the jeep/motorcraft upgrade. I will keep you posted, also if I get in trouble during the upgrade I will post for help.

Thanks for the repy, wish me luck.
cmcstotts is offline  
post #175 of 730 Old 07-06-2009, 12:44 PM
OSUAV8R
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 240
Thanks Hammer.. cap and rotor it is
OSUAV8R is offline  
post #176 of 730 Old 07-06-2009, 03:29 PM Thread Starter
JeepHammer
Running On Empty...
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West Indiana
Posts: 11,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by OSUAV8R View Post
Thanks Hammer.. cap and rotor it is
Using the taller/wider cap and rotor from 'Ford' will give you something else,
Spark plug type terminals instead of the 'Socket' terminals Jeep was so fond of.

That means you will need a set of plug wires to go with the cap adapter, cap & rotor.
Trust me, this is a GOOD thing!
--------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmcstotts View Post
Thanks Jeephammer
I will attempt to upgrade using the jeep/motorcraft upgrade. I will keep you posted, also if I get in trouble during the upgrade I will post for help.

Collect up the distributor, cap adapter, Cap, Rotor, and Plug wires,
Then decide what module you want to use, the $25 GM HEI style for single fire ignition,
Or the $140 CDI module for 500% more spark energy,

Then contact me and I'll help you step by step to switch over.

REMEMBER,
'Free' internet information is worth EXACTLY what you paid for it!
LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JeepHammer is offline  
post #177 of 730 Old 07-07-2009, 06:12 AM
cmcstotts
Registered User
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: rome, ga
Posts: 69
Jeephammer I started ordering my parts. My 78 remanufactured distributor is supposed to be in today. I am currently looking into the CDI modules. What does it mean when it says not carb approved? I am thinking about the summit racing 850602 CDI.

I will get the cap adapter, Cap, Rotor and plug wires per the TeamRush upgrade.
I will also get the summit racing 8869 connector to connect to Motorcraft/MSD module.

Do you think I will need the Diode?
cmcstotts is offline  
post #178 of 730 Old 07-07-2009, 09:52 AM Thread Starter
JeepHammer
Running On Empty...
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West Indiana
Posts: 11,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmcstotts View Post
Jeephammer I started ordering my parts. My 78 remanufactured distributor is supposed to be in today. I am currently looking into the CDI modules. What does it mean when it says not carb approved? I am thinking about the summit racing 850602 CDI.

I will get the cap adapter, Cap, Rotor and plug wires per the TeamRush upgrade.
I will also get the summit racing 8869 connector to connect to Motorcraft/MSD module.

Do you think I will need the Diode?
CARB, California Air Research Board,

Diode? Probably. Most Jeeps are wired with a direct line back to the ignition 'Run' line, and that will be plenty to keep the module 'Switched On' even with the key switch is 'Off'...

REMEMBER,
'Free' internet information is worth EXACTLY what you paid for it!
LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

LINK:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JeepHammer is offline  
post #179 of 730 Old 07-07-2009, 12:43 PM
cmcstotts
Registered User
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: rome, ga
Posts: 69
Thanks I will order the CDI module today.
cmcstotts is offline  
post #180 of 730 Old 07-07-2009, 03:47 PM
fb4lfe
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: central-cal
Posts: 30
Hammer, thanks again for the great thread. I am collecting the parts for my 79 CJ7 and starting the upgrade on Monday. One quick question that someone asked on the previous page....I am going to AutoZone because I am in California, and you show that we should purchase an F953 rotor. But part F2104G is a cap and rotor combined. Is the rotor that comes with that cap acceptable to use or should we still purchase the F953?

Thanks again,

Mike
fb4lfe is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Prestolite to teamrush upgrade- Amc 360 v8 2manytoys2 Jeep CJ Forum 13 10-26-2012 01:16 PM
TEAMRUSH Upgrade, Who SELLS PLUG WIRES?? Fjguercio Jeep CJ Forum 14 06-02-2010 09:16 PM
What is a TeamRush upgrade ? tevans59 Jeep CJ Forum 6 01-11-2010 07:02 PM
My TeamRush, Nutter & Weber 32/36 Upgrade for 1985 258 TJTony Jeep CJ Forum 3 01-11-2009 01:17 PM
Teamrush upgrade on 76 CJ5 76silvercj5 Jeep CJ Forum 9 08-26-2008 04:49 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome