Hydraulic brakes to power brakes question - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Hydraulic brakes to power brakes question

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Rough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!

Unread 02-28-2003, 01:08 AM   #1
Jeep'N 4 Fun

Location: Central California <-- Thanks scottahicks for correcting me on my location. _____(:-)-}-<
Hydraulic brakes to power brakes question

I'm new to the jeep world and I just bought a '74 cj5 renagade. Right now it has hydraulic brakes on it and I was wondering if there was a conversion kit to turn it into power brakes. I've looked around and have found nothing yet. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

3" suspension Lift,
WARN locking hubs,
33X10.5X15 BF goodrich Mud Terrian T/A,
Tow hooks F & R,
KC daylighters,
Dana 30 Front and Dana 44 Rear
and more to come.[/color]
Jeep'N 4 Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-03-2003, 03:39 PM   #2
AtlantaCJ6

Jeepn 4 fun,

Your Jeep was available with power brakes so it shouldn't be that hard. You need to find a brake booster and bracket (ebay, junkyard, etc...) and cobble things together. I would go ahead and buy a new master cylinder at the same time just to be sure you are working with good parts. You'll also need to connect the booster to a vacuum source on the engine. Its really a very easy swap.

One warning though, when the motor quits so do the power brakes. This is a key thing to remember when you are going downhill on a trail. If you have any carb problems that make your jeep a little prone to stalling on hills you could find yourself running off the trail or into the Jeeps in front of you.

Good Luck,
Unread 03-03-2003, 03:50 PM   #3