Help a Newbie. Brake system - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Help a Newbie. Brake system

Trick Tabs - NalinMFG.comCCOR is your 1 stop source for everything Jeep!TJ 5.25" Speaker Adapters - NalinMFG

Unread 05-26-2013, 06:55 PM   #1
dorthensensens

Help a Newbie. Brake system

Hello All. I'm new to restoring. So far I've been able to change my fan, rebuild my transfer case, fix various electrical problems, install a new low range unit and install a new OME lift kit in my garage with very little experience all with the great help from jeep enthusiast forums just like these.

I now need to over hall my brake system. I've added larger tires and the added stress has caused something near my master brake cylinder/booster to create a brake fluid leak. In order for me to get the proper parts, I need to find out if my brake callipers are connected via a 2 bolt or a 6 bolt system. I've learned what each system looks like and i've set off to try to see what version I have.

Since I'm a brand new to this, I need some help in dismantling my front brake system and while I'm there, change the front pads. Unfortunately I have no Idea what to do next. Here are some photos of my front passenger brake.

http://imgur.com/a/J0hPu

Do I unfasten the 6 bolts as pictured in the first photo? Pull the assembly forward? The calliper itself has a small hex screw that I can remove as well but I haven't a clue what that does.

If anyone would be so kind to help me out I'd me exceedingly appreciative.

Thank you

dorthensensens is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-27-2013, 05:15 AM   #2
BagusJeep
Web Wheeler

1981 CJ7