Help with MIG welding body panels? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Help with MIG welding body panels?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineNEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!! Year End Clearance Sale! Save 20%

Unread 12-09-2011, 07:00 AM   #1
Matt1981CJ7
Web Wheeler

1981 CJ7 

Help with MIG welding body panels?

Hey guys,

I'm brand new to welding. Using a Lincoln 140 with .024 solid wire and 75/25 argon/CO2 shield. Power and wire-speed is set per the chart on the welder for 16 ga. mild steel and gas.

I can run nice clean beads, with good penetration, all day long on a flat sheet with no seam. But, when I butt two pieces and try to weld them together, I get blow-thru, especially at any gaps in the butt larger than say 1/32"

I'm aware you should only weld short segments at a time (about 3/4-1"). I've also tried the start/stop spot weld technique, which is better, but I still have trouble at the gaps. I'm going to try using a copper "heat sink" behind the weld, today, to see it that helps.

Any other suggestions?

Thanks,

Matt

weld1.jpg   weld2.jpg   weld3.jpg   weld4.jpg   weldbolwthru.jpg  

Matt1981CJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-09-2011, 07:10 AM   #2
BioTex
2006 TJ Wrangler 

When I get that blow through, I turn up the wire speed a tad. It cools the puddle a bit. The copper heat sink should help also.
06' TJ Rubicon, 4" R.C. springs, BFG/AT 35s M.C. 6" fenders, rockers and surrounds, Currie front & rear adj. tracbars, tattons DC rear shaft, adj. upper - lower CA's. Bilstein 5100's
YJ Buggy Build Current project. Stroker/FI ?
1990 MJ Comanche 4.0L AX15/np231
BioTex is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-09-2011, 07:18 AM   #3