Help me solve this blasted Pinging.... - Page 32 - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #466 of 844 Old 06-14-2013, 10:21 AM
swatson454
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 6,358
Now that you mention it, John, it almost looks like oil was spilled or leaked on to the top, made its way down and collected there. It's above the plug.


Live in a way that those who know you but don't know God will come to know God because they know you.
swatson454 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #467 of 844 Old 06-14-2013, 10:58 AM Thread Starter
2Xtreme
Web Wheeler
 
2Xtreme's Avatar
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady
Posts: 1,418
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
Why would the water passages be leaking anything?
Unless he ran hoses to the intake, there should be nothing in the water passage.
I initially thought it was due to the massive amount of blow-by.

But now that you mention it, that water 'circuit' should be closed.

In which case, it would have no effect on vacuum anyway.....

(I hope this doesn't indicate a crack somewhere....)
2Xtreme is offline  
post #468 of 844 Old 06-14-2013, 12:24 PM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 15,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Xtreme View Post
I initially thought it was due to the massive amount of blow-by.

But now that you mention it, that water 'circuit' should be closed.

In which case, it would have no effect on vacuum anyway.....

(I hope this doesn't indicate a crack somewhere....)
Well I guess You could take the plug out and listen with your stethoscope to see if you have a leak but I doubt it. I think Swatson has it right that something dripped on it from above.
John Strenk is offline  
post #469 of 844 Old 06-14-2013, 12:25 PM Thread Starter
2Xtreme
Web Wheeler
 
2Xtreme's Avatar
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady
Posts: 1,418
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucdog View Post
....Engine idle is set with the vacuum connected to the carb. Timing is set with the port capped on the carb

Bill
Not to go backward here, but....

In regard to setting the idle speed only, how would my not having the vac advance connected to the carb affect idle?

It was disconnected and capped at both ends.

Would this be another reason for high idle?
If so, that's a good thing. Another easy thing to address....
2Xtreme is offline  
post #470 of 844 Old 06-14-2013, 12:42 PM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 15,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Xtreme View Post
Not to go backward here, but....

In regard to setting the idle speed only, how would my not having the vac advance connected to the carb affect idle?

It was disconnected and capped at both ends.

Would this be another reason for high idle?
If so, that's a good thing. Another easy thing to address....
Depends,
If it was connected to a Ported vacuum source no difference
If it was connected to a Manifold vacuum source, it would drop because there would be no advance.

If you capped the hose at both ends and not the port then it would be a vacuum leak...


It would not cause the problem you are having...
John Strenk is offline  
post #471 of 844 Old 06-14-2013, 12:42 PM
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 9,702
Vacuum advance hooked to manifold vacuum will increase idle rpm somewhat.

You should have been showing your initial advance of 8* or so........not 0* even at 1200 rpm.

Either your misunderstanding what's its about or something is wanky with your distributor.
86cj74.2L is offline  
post #472 of 844 Old 06-14-2013, 01:01 PM Thread Starter
2Xtreme
Web Wheeler
 
2Xtreme's Avatar
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady
Posts: 1,418
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
Depends,
If it was connected to a Ported vacuum source no difference
If it was connected to a Manifold vacuum source, it would drop because there would be no advance.

If you capped the hose at both ends and not the port then it would be a vacuum leak...


It would not cause the problem you are having...
WAAAAAAY back int he beginning, it was connected to Ported vacuum.
Then we switched it to Manifold Vacuum.

It is currently disconnected at the distributor end, the nipple on the distributor plugged and the end of the vac line that connects to that nipple is plugged. So basically, it's plugged.

And DANG! on it not being part of the problem.

Regardless, for idle setting purposes, I need to reconnect it, yes?
2Xtreme is offline  
post #473 of 844 Old 06-14-2013, 01:33 PM
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 9,702
Just keep it disconected till you can achieve a low idle.

Once that's established hook the vacuum advance back up and readjust your idle. Than do the idle mixture adjustment.
86cj74.2L is offline  
post #474 of 844 Old 06-14-2013, 01:34 PM Thread Starter
2Xtreme
Web Wheeler
 
2Xtreme's Avatar
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady
Posts: 1,418
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 86cj74.2L View Post
Just keep it disconected till you can achieve a low idle.

Once that's established hook the vacuum advance back up and readjust your idle. Than do the idle mixture adjustment.
Cool.
2Xtreme is offline  
post #475 of 844 Old 06-14-2013, 01:58 PM
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 9,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Xtreme

Cool.
After that is accomplished, hook up the rest of the vacuum lines and ensure nothing has changed.
86cj74.2L is offline  
post #476 of 844 Old 06-15-2013, 07:55 AM Thread Starter
2Xtreme
Web Wheeler
 
2Xtreme's Avatar
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady
Posts: 1,418
Garage
Ordered a new gasket and fasteners. Won't be in until Wednesday....UGH!

Not much I can do with it until then, except verify/ cap the line to the transmission and possibly clearance the header flange a little to minimize the possibility of it hanging up on the intake.

Wheel, Fix, repeat….
2Xtreme is offline  
post #477 of 844 Old 06-18-2013, 05:32 AM Thread Starter
2Xtreme
Web Wheeler
 
2Xtreme's Avatar
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady
Posts: 1,418
Garage
Just a quick update:

After seceral conversations with Summit Customer Service, I ordered a Hedman 'Replacement Parts Kit'. Which is supposed to have new gasket, bolts/ sleeves, collector, etc. that normally comes with the header.

But of course, the picture with the listing states "Image is a representation of this item. Actual item may vary." and looks nothing like what I need.
the part numbers seem to cross-reference, so we will see.

Just in case, I also ordered a steel core laminated Fel-Pro gasket.

Of course they shipped from different warehouses.
The 'kit' will be here today. The gasket, tomorrow.

Before I reinstall anything, I am going to clearance the header flange adjacent the intake, to prevent any binding. As I remember it, it was a pretty snug fit.

I am also going to verify the spacers on the sleeves are the correct length.
I think this is also contributing to the issue of things sealing.
2Xtreme is offline  
post #478 of 844 Old 06-18-2013, 05:39 AM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 15,255
While you are at it, Check your bolts to make sure they are not too long. I ran into this were I though I was tightening up the header against the head when I was actual just tightening the bolt against the head because they were too long.

This is were studs are very nice. Never have to worry about bolts being too long.
John Strenk is offline  
post #479 of 844 Old 06-18-2013, 05:48 AM Thread Starter
2Xtreme
Web Wheeler
 
2Xtreme's Avatar
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady
Posts: 1,418
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
While you are at it, Check your bolts to make sure they are not too long. I ran into this were I though I was tightening up the header against the head when I was actual just tightening the bolt against the head because they were too long.

This is were studs are very nice. Never have to worry about bolts being too long.
Thanks for the heads up!

2Xtreme is offline  
post #480 of 844 Old 06-19-2013, 04:38 AM Thread Starter
2Xtreme
Web Wheeler
 
2Xtreme's Avatar
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady
Posts: 1,418
Garage
No wonder shipping is always so high....



The other box will arrive today.....
2Xtreme is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome