Help me solve this blasted Pinging.... - Page 32 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Help me solve this blasted Pinging....

TJ 5.25" Speaker Adapters - NalinMFG4th of July Military Discount! (Active: July 2 - 16, 2014)Currie RockJock Products!!

Reply
Unread 06-14-2013, 10:21 AM   #466
swatson454
Mall-crawlin' Hot Rodder
 
swatson454's Avatar
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dripping Springs, TX (soon)
Posts: 4,699
Now that you mention it, John, it almost looks like oil was spilled or leaked on to the top, made its way down and collected there. It's above the plug.

__________________
Live in a way that those who know you but don't know God will come to know God because they know you.
swatson454 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-14-2013, 10:58 AM   #467
2Xtreme
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 1,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
Why would the water passages be leaking anything?
Unless he ran hoses to the intake, there should be nothing in the water passage.
I initially thought it was due to the massive amount of blow-by.

But now that you mention it, that water 'circuit' should be closed.

In which case, it would have no effect on vacuum anyway.....

(I hope this doesn't indicate a crack somewhere....)
2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-14-2013, 12:24 PM   #468
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 12,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Xtreme View Post
I initially thought it was due to the massive amount of blow-by.

But now that you mention it, that water 'circuit' should be closed.

In which case, it would have no effect on vacuum anyway.....

(I hope this doesn't indicate a crack somewhere....)
Well I guess You could take the plug out and listen with your stethoscope to see if you have a leak but I doubt it. I think Swatson has it right that something dripped on it from above.
John Strenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-14-2013, 12:25 PM   #469
2Xtreme
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 1,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucdog View Post
....Engine idle is set with the vacuum connected to the carb. Timing is set with the port capped on the carb

Bill
Not to go backward here, but....

In regard to setting the idle speed only, how would my not having the vac advance connected to the carb affect idle?

It was disconnected and capped at both ends.

Would this be another reason for high idle?
If so, that's a good thing. Another easy thing to address....
2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-14-2013, 12:42 PM   #470
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 12,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Xtreme View Post
Not to go backward here, but....

In regard to setting the idle speed only, how would my not having the vac advance connected to the carb affect idle?

It was disconnected and capped at both ends.

Would this be another reason for high idle?
If so, that's a good thing. Another easy thing to address....
Depends,
If it was connected to a Ported vacuum source no difference
If it was connected to a Manifold vacuum source, it would drop because there would be no advance.

If you capped the hose at both ends and not the port then it would be a vacuum leak...


It would not cause the problem you are having...
John Strenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-14-2013, 12:42 PM   #471
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 6,240
Vacuum advance hooked to manifold vacuum will increase idle rpm somewhat.

You should have been showing your initial advance of 8* or so........not 0* even at 1200 rpm.

Either your misunderstanding what's its about or something is wanky with your distributor.
86cj74.2L is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-14-2013, 01:01 PM   #472
2Xtreme
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 1,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
Depends,
If it was connected to a Ported vacuum source no difference
If it was connected to a Manifold vacuum source, it would drop because there would be no advance.

If you capped the hose at both ends and not the port then it would be a vacuum leak...


It would not cause the problem you are having...
WAAAAAAY back int he beginning, it was connected to Ported vacuum.
Then we switched it to Manifold Vacuum.

It is currently disconnected at the distributor end, the nipple on the distributor plugged and the end of the vac line that connects to that nipple is plugged. So basically, it's plugged.

And DANG! on it not being part of the problem.

Regardless, for idle setting purposes, I need to reconnect it, yes?
2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-14-2013, 01:33 PM   #473
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 6,240
Just keep it disconected till you can achieve a low idle.

Once that's established hook the vacuum advance back up and readjust your idle. Than do the idle mixture adjustment.
86cj74.2L is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-14-2013, 01:34 PM   #474
2Xtreme
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 1,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by 86cj74.2L View Post
Just keep it disconected till you can achieve a low idle.

Once that's established hook the vacuum advance back up and readjust your idle. Than do the idle mixture adjustment.
Cool.
2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-14-2013, 01:58 PM   #475
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 6,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Xtreme

Cool.
After that is accomplished, hook up the rest of the vacuum lines and ensure nothing has changed.
86cj74.2L is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 07:55 AM   #476
2Xtreme
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 1,188
Ordered a new gasket and fasteners. Won't be in until Wednesday....UGH!

Not much I can do with it until then, except verify/ cap the line to the transmission and possibly clearance the header flange a little to minimize the possibility of it hanging up on the intake.
2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-18-2013, 05:32 AM   #477
2Xtreme
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 1,188
Just a quick update:

After seceral conversations with Summit Customer Service, I ordered a Hedman 'Replacement Parts Kit'. Which is supposed to have new gasket, bolts/ sleeves, collector, etc. that normally comes with the header.

But of course, the picture with the listing states "Image is a representation of this item. Actual item may vary." and looks nothing like what I need.
the part numbers seem to cross-reference, so we will see.

Just in case, I also ordered a steel core laminated Fel-Pro gasket.

Of course they shipped from different warehouses.
The 'kit' will be here today. The gasket, tomorrow.

Before I reinstall anything, I am going to clearance the header flange adjacent the intake, to prevent any binding. As I remember it, it was a pretty snug fit.

I am also going to verify the spacers on the sleeves are the correct length.
I think this is also contributing to the issue of things sealing.
2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-18-2013, 05:39 AM   #478
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 12,927
While you are at it, Check your bolts to make sure they are not too long. I ran into this were I though I was tightening up the header against the head when I was actual just tightening the bolt against the head because they were too long.

This is were studs are very nice. Never have to worry about bolts being too long.
John Strenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-18-2013, 05:48 AM   #479
2Xtreme
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 1,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
While you are at it, Check your bolts to make sure they are not too long. I ran into this were I though I was tightening up the header against the head when I was actual just tightening the bolt against the head because they were too long.

This is were studs are very nice. Never have to worry about bolts being too long.
Thanks for the heads up!

2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-19-2013, 04:38 AM   #480
2Xtreme
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 1,188
No wonder shipping is always so high....



The other box will arrive today.....
2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.