Help with bodywork, welding, paint and prep - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Help with bodywork, welding, paint and prep

Component speaker deal for your dash - NalinMFGPoison Spyder Ricochet RockersROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail

Unread 07-13-2013, 03:10 PM   #1
Dborns
1983 CJ7 

Help with bodywork, welding, paint and prep

I just picked up an '83 tub that's in pretty rough shape and will need quite a bit of metal to come back together. It'll need side panels, front floorpans, and the complete rear floor, and braces replaced. The good news is that the tub was free and I have all metal I'll need. The bad news is I have little experience with sheet metal work. Also our camera died so I cant post pics just yet.
My first project will be replacing the rear floor and the three braces. The pieces I have need to be painted but my question is how do I do that and then weld them? When I paint the pieces I'll have to grind down the edges to get a good weld. Is weld thru primer going to be enough protection against rust? I wanted to coat everything in por before I weld but know I wont be able to do that. I know I can go back over the weld with the por but what about the underside of that seam that I wouldn't be able to get to?

Dborns is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-13-2013, 09:20 PM   #2
texasdave

1980 CJ7 

Get a pump sprayer and if you need to drill a small hole then fill the hole and coat it.
texasdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-13-2013, 09:31 PM   #3
CSP

My favorite thread to date on sheetmetal repairs: http://www.garagejournal.com/forum/s...ad.php?t=53534

Tons of information, good pictures, and lots of detail.
CSP is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-14-2013, 01:17 AM   #4
BagusJeep