Hella Air Horn - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-11-2007, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
Jester03
2004 LJ Wrangler 

Hella Air Horn

OK! Let me start by saying I am no electrician. I have tryed several times to install my new horn. I have tryed to hook it up through my column and hook up to my grant sterring wheel. Well, turning left and right winds the wires and snaps them. So then I go for the toggle switch, now I'm blowing fuses everytime I put one in.. Some one gove me some options (other than S**t canning) the whole hella horn. A step by step would be helpful. The instructions come in four languages, and they all seem foriegn to me including english, and the diagrams?? Any help would be greatly appreciated seeing that I need to get the thing inspected soon..... Thanks

The Deadliest weapon in the world is a Marine and his rifle! ......
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-11-2007, 12:47 PM
cdn_xj
I've returned to the fold

1999 XJ Cherokee 

I'm not sure about how Grant steering wheels are constructed, but when I installed a Momo wheel in to my 16v the horn wires did not go all the way up to the horn button.

At the base of the steering wheel (where it meets the column) is what's called a "contact ring". The contact ring actually consisted of 2 concentric, conductive rings set into a plastic holder.

On the column side two spring loaded contacts would mate to and ride in the rings on the steering wheel. This is what gives you the ability to turn the wheel over several times and maintain electrical continuity without twisting wires.

'99 XJ Sport 4-dr
4.0 HO - AW4 - NP231 - D30, 4.10, Open - ChrysCo 8.25 29-Spline, 4.10, OEM Trac-Loc

Stock with a crapload of bolted on bits
post #3 of 6 Old 12-11-2007, 10:24 PM
noflacko

1994 YJ Wrangler