Headers anyone?? - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 06-18-2013, 03:37 PM Thread Starter
wvrefugee
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: morgantown
Posts: 150
Headers anyone??

Anyone running headers on their 304 or 360 inside the body??? Trying to decide whether or not to install. Pics are good!!


http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k251/wvrefugee_2006/chimneytops.jpg
wvrefugee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 06-18-2013, 03:47 PM
turbogus
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Albany~town, Oregon
Posts: 2,069
Garage
'Black Betty's' headers are on the inside.





Kind of tight to do any work though, I think these are Hedmans' they came on 'BB' when I got 'er. I personally prefer Hookers as I had good luck with them and as I recall the tube design lended themselves to better access to those dammnable header bolts. These were on my Steppenwolf CJ back in the '80's


The parts shop that stocks part for Skylab II will not have parts for our year/model of Jeep
We cannot accurately judge the trajectory of a speeding critter (cat, dog, sasquatch)
Record heat waves and floods only occur when we visit that area
turbogus is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 06-18-2013, 04:04 PM Thread Starter
wvrefugee
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: morgantown
Posts: 150
304??

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k251/wvrefugee_2006/chimneytops.jpg
wvrefugee is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 06-18-2013, 11:03 PM
Offroaddaddy
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 230
Just bought hedman elites in frame...I pick them up Saturday. i'll post pics after I'm done
Offroaddaddy is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 06-19-2013, 07:13 AM Thread Starter
wvrefugee
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: morgantown
Posts: 150
That's what I'm looking at for mine! Let's see some pics of your efforts....no audio though. I know how hard those bolts are!!

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k251/wvrefugee_2006/chimneytops.jpg
wvrefugee is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 06-19-2013, 08:23 AM
turbogus
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Albany~town, Oregon
Posts: 2,069
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvrefugee View Post
304??
The 'Steppenwolf' CJ had a 304, 'Black Betty' has a 360 out of a waggy.

The parts shop that stocks part for Skylab II will not have parts for our year/model of Jeep
We cannot accurately judge the trajectory of a speeding critter (cat, dog, sasquatch)
Record heat waves and floods only occur when we visit that area
turbogus is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 06-19-2013, 08:27 AM
turbogus
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Albany~town, Oregon
Posts: 2,069
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvrefugee View Post
That's what I'm looking at for mine! Let's see some pics of your efforts....no audio though. I know how hard those bolts are!!
Grade 5 is all you'll want to use on header bolts, just in case one breaks off, 5's are way easier to extract than 8's. (Learned that lesson on an old Buick GS 400)
As I recall (been a few decades) the Hookers on my old 'Steppenwolf' CJ had additional clearance around those notorious AMC 'dogleg' shaped exhaust ports. I don't know if they retained this feature but since I got back into Jeepin' I sure do miss 'em

The parts shop that stocks part for Skylab II will not have parts for our year/model of Jeep
We cannot accurately judge the trajectory of a speeding critter (cat, dog, sasquatch)
Record heat waves and floods only occur when we visit that area
turbogus is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 06-19-2013, 08:31 AM
iluvcowjuice
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Olney, MD
Posts: 517
I have headman headers on mine, $50 still in the package on craigslist. Had to bend the passenger side out to clear the starter and dent the tube on cylinder one to clear the steering shaft. You can get by the passenger side with a high torque mini starter.
iluvcowjuice is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 06-19-2013, 11:52 AM Thread Starter
wvrefugee
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: morgantown
Posts: 150
I meant they get rusty and unbearable to get out without cussing a bit!

Cowjuice.........I ain't bending nothing!!!! )

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k251/wvrefugee_2006/chimneytops.jpg
wvrefugee is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 06-19-2013, 12:35 PM
my73CJ
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Monroe
Posts: 508
stay with the stock manifolds, the change in performance is minimal at best and I have read numerous times how they leak etc.
my73CJ is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 06-19-2013, 01:03 PM
iluvcowjuice
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Olney, MD
Posts: 517
When I took mine out, I got the ones that came out easy, then drove around a couple days, and the rattling/ pressure loosened up a few more. Took like a week and a half, but I didn't break any bolts.
iluvcowjuice is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 06-19-2013, 02:51 PM
turbogus
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Albany~town, Oregon
Posts: 2,069
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by my73CJ View Post
stay with the stock manifolds, the change in performance is minimal at best and I have read numerous times how they leak etc.
Not to create a dispute but I think each manufaturer has their own settings for clearances. These Headmans on 'BB' come right out after I remove the spark plug wire brackets.

The parts shop that stocks part for Skylab II will not have parts for our year/model of Jeep
We cannot accurately judge the trajectory of a speeding critter (cat, dog, sasquatch)
Record heat waves and floods only occur when we visit that area
turbogus is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 06-23-2013, 09:41 AM
aallison28
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: jacksonville Florida
Posts: 66
Doug Thorleys on my 401 and fit with no problem. But I'm building from the frame up and am locating my steering column so I know it will fit but just mounting it up in the stock locations they fit fine. Starter has plenty of clearance. Going in a CJ6 with a 'glass tub.
aallison28 is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 06-23-2013, 05:17 PM
turbogus
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Albany~town, Oregon
Posts: 2,069
Garage
HOw are those Thorleys for header bolt wrench clearance? Can you get a socket on 'em all? I'd like an alternative to those expensive Hookers. and you know what I really mean.

The parts shop that stocks part for Skylab II will not have parts for our year/model of Jeep
We cannot accurately judge the trajectory of a speeding critter (cat, dog, sasquatch)
Record heat waves and floods only occur when we visit that area
turbogus is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 06-23-2013, 08:20 PM Thread Starter
wvrefugee
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: morgantown
Posts: 150
Thanks for the input!!

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k251/wvrefugee_2006/chimneytops.jpg
wvrefugee is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome