Has anyone actually ever fixed there speedo - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 48 Old 01-17-2012, 07:39 PM Thread Starter
jamie0921
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sunrise beach
Posts: 467
Has anyone actually ever fixed there speedo

Million times it's been covered but I've been searching and reading for hours on this topic and either no one every fixes the problem or they never post the solution if they did it would help a lot of people and stop all the posts on this topic.
Mine jumps erratically some times more when it's cold and at 55 mph it jumps to 90 then back and forth if anyone has got a answer I'd really appreciate it

jamie0921 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 48 Old 01-17-2012, 08:11 PM
Skerr
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: White Springs
Posts: 9,478
My understanding of this symptom is a bad cable. Have you checked that yet?

Kerrdog
Go Fish! <*////><

But the right word at the right time... "Hey, give me a little hug!" That's the difference between lightning and a harmless lightning bug!
Skerr is offline  
post #3 of 48 Old 01-17-2012, 08:27 PM Thread Starter
jamie0921
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sunrise beach
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skerr
My understanding of this symptom is a bad cable. Have you checked that yet?
Sometimes it works great but I've got one on my eBay watch list and I'm going to grease it tomarrow
jamie0921 is offline  
post #4 of 48 Old 01-17-2012, 08:58 PM
kirklin
Registered User
1975 CJ5 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: crystal lake
Posts: 187
Did you try to lubricate the line with some powdered graffiti that helps some times
kirklin is offline  
post #5 of 48 Old 01-17-2012, 09:03 PM
drummer31779
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Columbus
Posts: 115
Mine just stopped. If the cable is unplugged while you're driving then you should be able to feel it spin right if you put your finger on it?
drummer31779 is offline  
post #6 of 48 Old 01-17-2012, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
jamie0921
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sunrise beach
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirklin
Did you try to lubricate the line with some powdered graffiti that helps some times
I was going to lube it tomarow didn't now what I was going to use
jamie0921 is offline  
post #7 of 48 Old 01-17-2012, 09:07 PM
logans76cj5
Registered User
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 99
The same thing happened to mine, it would jump around like it had a mind of its own or it just wouldn't work at all. I put a new cable in and haven't had a problem since

./| ,[___I__],
|ŻŻL --O|||||||O_
() )Ż()_) ŻŻŻ )_)
logans76cj5 is offline  
post #8 of 48 Old 01-17-2012, 09:26 PM Thread Starter
jamie0921
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sunrise beach
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by logans76cj5
The same thing happened to mine, it would jump around like it had a mind of its own or it just wouldn't work at all. I put a new cable in and haven't had a problem since
I've also heard to make sure it's tight while others said to back it off a lil to stop it from jumping but where did you get yours
jamie0921 is offline  
post #9 of 48 Old 01-17-2012, 10:31 PM
only in a jeep cj
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Mobile
Posts: 5,067
On those speedo cables, you can pull out the line from the center and clean any rusty spots on a wire wheel. Spray out and relube the tube . If it doesn't spin easily after that, time for a new one.

Ed
1975 CJ-6 1983 CJ-8
1986 CJ-7 Laredo 1986 TJ-7 Trail Jeep
2003 Inca Gold TJ Rubicon
only in a jeep cj is offline  
post #10 of 48 Old 01-17-2012, 10:41 PM Thread Starter
jamie0921
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sunrise beach
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by only in a jeep cj
On those speedo cables, you can pull out the line from the center and clean any rusty spots on a wire wheel. Spray out and relube the tube . If it doesn't spin easily after that, time for a new one.
I'll try that out thanks as well
jamie0921 is offline  
post #11 of 48 Old 01-17-2012, 11:48 PM Thread Starter
jamie0921
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sunrise beach
Posts: 467
I'm open to all ideas
jamie0921 is offline  
post #12 of 48 Old 01-18-2012, 03:49 AM
Erik719
Web Wheeler
 
Erik719's Avatar
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Arlington
Posts: 1,084
I had this problem and it was the cable. The issue was on the far end that hooks into the xfer case; the end kept getting chewed up. I had to replace it twice, but it's been working fine for 5+ years now.

'80 CJ7 - Gone but not forgotten
'83 CJ7 - Donkey
Erik719 is offline  
post #13 of 48 Old 01-18-2012, 06:26 AM
jricketts67
Registered User
1980 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 237
Mine is bad too... I'm gonna replace the cable all together
jricketts67 is offline  
post #14 of 48 Old 01-18-2012, 06:37 AM
Cutlass327
Web Wheeler
 
Cutlass327's Avatar
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Beach City
Posts: 5,819
I had the bottom end of my cable round off, tried a coupole of the replacement inserts from the "HELP!" section at Auto Zone and Advance Auto, they bounced a lot. Bought a complete replacement from 4WDH, either Crown or O-A, still bounces. It will also go to different variations of inaccuracy, depending on the day. I have lubed it, trimmed it (The insert was too long for the housing it came with!) snugged it, loosened it, bent it, twisted it, lubed it with oil, graphite, light grease, lithium grease... still doesn't work right.. It is all the cable, since it only has issues until I mess ith the cable. I'd love to find an OEM cable, but I've only found the Jeep places that carry the O-A and Crown crap... all others just have the generic insert you trim to fit and crimp the end on...

Good luck. If you find anything, let us know!

Rick

1978 CJ5 5.0HO/T177/D300, '86 D30/D44 WT axles, 'glass body, 31x10.5 BFG A/T, TDK galv'd frame - DD and weekend toy

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/ri...8-cj5-1223197/
Cutlass327 is offline  
post #15 of 48 Old 01-18-2012, 08:24 AM Thread Starter
jamie0921
Registered User
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sunrise beach
Posts: 467
I myself would like to get a cable I don't have to trim I'm trying auto zone first
jamie0921 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome