Hardtop Cam & Cable Conundrum - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-30-2013, 06:25 PM Thread Starter
BotchedRepair
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 18
Hardtop Cam & Cable Conundrum

I have a CJ7 hardtop that I have been restoring for the last month or so. Things have gone relatively well thus far... I did the outside in black Monstaliner and the inside in the tintable light gray. I also went through and replaced all of the hardware, including the cam & cable and latches on the rear lift gate. Here's the problem... The replacement cam & cable assembly is too long. There's no way to get into the assembly, and cutting the cable to length isn't something I want to do. Given that this should be a fixed length, this shouldn't be a problem. What am I missing?



BotchedRepair is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 10-01-2013, 06:29 AM
gmakra
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 3,560
Botched I had the same problem when I did mine and it really irritated me that OmiAxda can get a simple measurement correct. So what I did was I put a simple overhand knot in the cable to shorten it up. The knot gets really small so you cant really see it and it takes the slack out.
gmakra is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-01-2013, 06:41 AM
Matt1981CJ7
Web Wheeler
 
Matt1981CJ7's Avatar
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elbert
Posts: 16,646
The overhand knot idea is a surprisingly good one...considering the source.

Alternatively, you could cut the cable and use a crimped loop sleeve.

Matt
Matt1981CJ7 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 10-01-2013, 08:23 AM Thread Starter
BotchedRepair
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 18
Thanks for the feedback guys, I just wanted to be sure it wasn't operator error. I'll try the crimped loop sleeve and post pics.
BotchedRepair is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-01-2013, 08:39 AM
Matt1981CJ7
Web Wheeler
 
Matt1981CJ7's Avatar
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elbert
Posts: 16,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by BotchedRepair View Post
Thanks for the feedback guys, I just wanted to be sure it wasn't operator error. I'll try the crimped loop sleeve and post pics.
Be sure you have enough cable to create the loop, and still reach the latch, before you cut anything.

Matt
Matt1981CJ7 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-01-2013, 09:39 PM
only in a jeep cj
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Mobile
Posts: 5,068
Clean up your old cables and use them on your new cam and latches.

Ed
1975 CJ-6 1983 CJ-8
1986 CJ-7 Laredo 1986 TJ-7 Trail Jeep
2003 Inca Gold TJ Rubicon
only in a jeep cj is online now  
Reply

Tags
hard top hardware , help needed

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome