Hardtop Cam & Cable Conundrum - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Hardtop Cam & Cable Conundrum

Rockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Rough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!Advance Adapters SYE Kits

Reply
Unread 09-30-2013, 06:25 PM   #1
BotchedRepair
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 18
Hardtop Cam & Cable Conundrum

I have a CJ7 hardtop that I have been restoring for the last month or so. Things have gone relatively well thus far... I did the outside in black Monstaliner and the inside in the tintable light gray. I also went through and replaced all of the hardware, including the cam & cable and latches on the rear lift gate. Here's the problem... The replacement cam & cable assembly is too long. There's no way to get into the assembly, and cutting the cable to length isn't something I want to do. Given that this should be a fixed length, this shouldn't be a problem. What am I missing?



BotchedRepair is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2013, 06:29 AM   #2
gmakra
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 2,683
Botched I had the same problem when I did mine and it really irritated me that OmiAxda can get a simple measurement correct. So what I did was I put a simple overhand knot in the cable to shorten it up. The knot gets really small so you cant really see it and it takes the slack out.
gmakra is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2013, 06:41 AM   #3
Matt1981CJ7
Web Wheeler
 
Matt1981CJ7's Avatar
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elbert, CO
Posts: 9,883
The overhand knot idea is a surprisingly good one...considering the source.

Alternatively, you could cut the cable and use a crimped loop sleeve.

Matt
Matt1981CJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2013, 08:23 AM   #4
BotchedRepair
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 18
Thanks for the feedback guys, I just wanted to be sure it wasn't operator error. I'll try the crimped loop sleeve and post pics.
BotchedRepair is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2013, 08:39 AM   #5
Matt1981CJ7
Web Wheeler
 
Matt1981CJ7's Avatar
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elbert, CO
Posts: 9,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by BotchedRepair View Post
Thanks for the feedback guys, I just wanted to be sure it wasn't operator error. I'll try the crimped loop sleeve and post pics.
Be sure you have enough cable to create the loop, and still reach the latch, before you cut anything.

Matt
Matt1981CJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2013, 09:39 PM   #6
only in a jeep cj
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 4,054
Clean up your old cables and use them on your new cam and latches.
__________________
Ed

1975 CJ-6 304 T15 Dana20 30/44 3.73
1983 CJ-8 258 T5 300 30/44 3.31 Looking for full or half hardtop buy or trade
1986 CJ-7 Laredo 4.6 stroker T5 300 30/44 3.31
1986 TJ-7 Trail Jeep project in the works
2003 Inca Gold TJ Rubicon
only in a jeep cj is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.