Goofy gas gage - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 08-17-2017, 12:27 PM Thread Starter
Sidney1921
1983 CJ7 

Goofy gas gage

When I bought my 83' CJ7 the fuel gage and sender were not wired. I received some excellent help from forum members on how to do the wiring. Now that I have everything wired according to their directions, the fuel gage reads 1/2 with the float in the empty position and the needle passes full as I move the float upwards. I'm sure this is a common problem with goofy Jeep gages. I'm new to the business. I would appreciate recommendations for calibrating my gage and sender. Thanks folks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 08-17-2017, 03:35 PM
John Strenk

1976 CJ5 

This sounds like a ground problem. Double check the ground connection before proceeding any further.

Then check the resistance from the sending unit when the tank is empty.

Then fill it and check the resistance again.

If the resistance is OK. Then you can proceed to calibrate the gauge.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 7 Old 08-17-2017, 04:18 PM Thread Starter
Sidney1921
1983 CJ7 

Goofy gage

When you say double check the ground are you referring to the gage itself or the sender? Would calibrating the sender mean adjusting the float rod or making some form of electrical intervention? I apologize for my inexperience. Thanks again.

post #4 of 7 Old 08-18-2017, 04:46 AM
ECJ-7
1976 CJ7 

How are you determining the empty float position? The most acurate way is to put it in the empty tank.
post #5 of 7 Old 08-18-2017, 06:14 AM
keith460
Jeep. There's Only One

1984 CJ7 

Beg, borrow or buy and Ohm meter to determine the setting of the Sending Unit but checking the ground connection should be your first step as mentioned.