Is this a good deal on a 1978 cj5 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Is this a good deal on a 1978 cj5

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineBill Baird Motorsports DIY parts - NalinMFG.comComponent speaker deal for your dash - NalinMFG

Unread 01-01-2014, 06:06 PM   #1
Jdooney76

Is this a good deal on a 1978 cj5

I am a newbie. Looking to buy my first jeep. It is a 1978 cj5. Was running 5 years ago. Po had replaced the body with a fiberglass tub, stainless hardware, stainless brake cables, it has the 258 i6. I believe tranny and axles are all stock for that year. No seats, no battery, a few plug wires missing. 31" bf goodrich good tires and rims. Paint and body in real good shape. Very little rust. He wants $2800. I'm not sure. I think I should tell him without seeing it run, all I can do is $2000. I work with the po brother and he said as far as he knows it was running fine when he parked it. It wasn't even advertised. It has just been sitting outside of house near me and I have seen it there for the last 5 years, and I took a shot and he said it was for sale. What do you guys think of it's worth with the info I have provided?

Jdooney76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-01-2014, 09:11 PM   #2
jimdubose
1978 CJ5 

wait for another
jimdubose is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-01-2014, 10:02 PM   #3
bptactical

It doesn't sound like much of a deal. Around here a halfway decent old CJ in running condition hovers in the $2500.00 range. Something like you describe would be in the $1000.00-1500.00 range.
I just picked up a similar condition but all original 79 CJ7, 304, AT, Part time converted Hi-Lo range Quadratrac for some ammo and Gunsmithing work. Needs a tranny, top and interior.