glove box switch - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > glove box switch

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!FS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options!

Unread 11-02-2002, 11:27 AM   #1
CDJEEP

glove box switch

What is the "emergency" switch in the glove box of an 1978 cj-7 with quadra-trac and no hi-low floor shifter for ? I'm new to this type of transfer case. Thanks

Unread 11-02-2002, 01:25 PM   #2
CSP

The switch in the glove box locks the transfer case front and rear outputs. Makes it act like a true 4WD transfer case. With it unlocked the outputs can spin at different rates depending on traction, and differences in output speeds like when you go around a turn. With the tcase locked you don't want to be driving on hard surfaces because you can break parts without the slippage that the Qtrac case allows.

The high/low lever should be on the floor near the drivers seat. Not all Qtracs had the low range unit bolted to them, but all CJ's with Qtrac did. If you don't have this lever someone has removed the reduction unit from your tcase or the lever is missing. Go to google.com and search on Quadratrac or Quadra Trac or some variation to learn more about the tcase you have.
CSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-02-2002, 02:24 PM   #3
CDJEEP

Thanks I'll do that. There is a glass tub and no hole in the floor so as you stated it is missing the shifter or has been removed.
Unread 11-02-2002, 09:14 PM   #4
rustyCJ

high/low lever?