Frustrated with AMC 20 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Frustrated with AMC 20

The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!Building a Bumper?Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 10-28-2013, 08:12 PM   #1
Powerplay72
1983 CJ7 

Frustrated with AMC 20

Hey all, I'm a newbie to the forum and to jeeps in general. Thanks to this forum, I have just finished up a frame off resto on my 83 CJ-7. I will show build later on a build thread. The issue I currently have is as follow:

So excited that she was road worthy, I took my son for a ride around the neighborhood. As the tranny shifted into 2nd, I heard a terrible grinding noise, with a shake in the rear end. To stop you here, I have 1 piece axles, and I rebuilt my 700r4, and had a tranny shop verify the tranny was built right. I was not in the gas at all.

I was still able to drive, and the tranny shifted to 3rd with out any problems. When I stopped at a stop sign, I went through the gears again and the same sound was heard, ONLY in 2nd, and it felt as though my passenger wheel was "spinning". It shifted fine into 3rd. I decided to step on it and see if the tranny would down shift into 2nd, it did, made that noise again and felt like wheel spin again.

I took a video of the issue and shared it with my tranny guy. He said that he put the tranny under his truck and it drove fine, but I had a little water in the tranny fluid, so he did a fluid swap, and drove it a few days, and swapped fluid again. Then he replaced into my jeep and drove it again. All the while he had no issues. When he watched and listened to the video he said, its spun the hub on the factory 2 piece axle, he was sure of it.