Ford Contour Fans, Controler Question? - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 03-16-2010, 01:01 PM Thread Starter
Paperboy326
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Battle Creek
Posts: 93
Ford Contour Fans, Controler Question?

I got a nice dual fan and shroud setup off a ford contour, fits the radiator pretty much perfect. I have done alot of reading about how to hook the fans up, now I have read so much i am confused i think. I would think a temp probe in the manifold would be best but maybe the Torq Flo one you can get at Auto Zone is the best way to go. can anyone help me with a good diagram and way to do the temp switch?

Scott

Paperboy326 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 03-16-2010, 06:34 PM
TheGhost
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 120
JeepHammer posted a really nice schematic somewhere. I can't remember what the thread was, but I think it had something to do with "OEM temp sensor". It really doesn't have anything to do with an OEM sensor, but the OP thought the low-speed relay was a temp sensor.

This is what I used. I have 2 of the Hayden adjustable sensors (Advance for about $18). One turns them on low at about 145, the other switches to high at about 185 - all included in the above referenced diagram. I attached the probes to the upper rad hose, then covered them with another piece of rad hose.
TheGhost is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 03-16-2010, 07:21 PM
VACJ7
Hockey Rules!
 
VACJ7's Avatar
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,783
I originally used a temp probe that slid in between the radiator core fins. Hated it. It allow too much temp swing for my liking. Then I read here about switching the thermostat housing to a 4.0 housing because it has a bung for a temp probe. Switched to that and now hold temps rock steady.
VACJ7 is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 03-16-2010, 07:52 PM Thread Starter
Paperboy326
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Battle Creek
Posts: 93
what temp probe did you use? and what did the rest of the wiring look like? thanks for your help.
Paperboy326 is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 03-16-2010, 08:02 PM
CJ Chet
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Yorktown, Virginia
Posts: 2,576
X2 on the 4.0 housing!


'86 CJ7
'04 AEV RUBICON
2015 Grand Cherokee Limited
CJ Chet is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 03-16-2010, 08:14 PM Thread Starter
Paperboy326
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Battle Creek
Posts: 93
can you guys draw out the wiring? what switch you are using? both using contour fans?
Paperboy326 is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 03-16-2010, 08:21 PM
TheGhost
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 120
If you just want a single speed / 2 fan / housing mounted probe - get a Hayden 3651. You don't need a wiring diagram - just the controller - instructions included. About $50.
TheGhost is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 03-16-2010, 08:28 PM
VACJ7
Hockey Rules!
 
VACJ7's Avatar
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,783
I used the Flex-A-Lite variable speed controller, but there are much cheaper methods posted here. I like it. I set a temp and the fans will speed up or slow down to hold it.

Electric Fan Accessories at Flex-a-lite Consolidated
VACJ7 is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 03-16-2010, 09:09 PM
CJ Chet
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Yorktown, Virginia
Posts: 2,576
I don't use any of those high cost controllers. I believe in the KISS principle. Contour fans controlled by two relays, which are controlled by a temperature switch in a 4.0 thermostat housing. Nice and simple, works like a champ, cheap, and reliable! No need to over-engineer it. Only thing extra I put in is an over-ride switch that makes the fans run constantly.

'86 CJ7
'04 AEV RUBICON
2015 Grand Cherokee Limited
CJ Chet is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 03-17-2010, 05:05 AM
DUX4LIFE
Registered User
1977 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Clinton County
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ Chet View Post
I don't use any of those high cost controllers. I believe in the KISS principle. Contour fans controlled by two relays, which are controlled by a temperature switch in a 4.0 thermostat housing. Nice and simple, works like a champ, cheap, and reliable! No need to over-engineer it. Only thing extra I put in is an over-ride switch that makes the fans run constantly.
Could you post some pics and a wiring diagram?
DUX4LIFE is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 03-17-2010, 05:14 AM Thread Starter
Paperboy326
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Battle Creek
Posts: 93
Thanks CJ Chet you said in your post that you are using 2 relays for 2 diffrent speeds? if i just do the hayden 3651 thats going to set the fan at one speed only right?

Scott
Paperboy326 is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 03-17-2010, 06:32 AM
TheGhost
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 120
The 3651 is a single speed application. I'm not sure why the 2 relays either - I think most temp switches are just on or off at a given temp - so I'm not sure how you would control a high and low speed with a single switch...maybe one is for his override switch??? I'd like to see what he's got as well.
TheGhost is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 03-17-2010, 06:35 AM
CJ Chet
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Yorktown, Virginia
Posts: 2,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paperboy326 View Post
Thanks CJ Chet you said in your post that you are using 2 relays for 2 diffrent speeds? if i just do the hayden 3651 thats going to set the fan at one speed only right?

Scott
Not two speeds! Just one relay and one fuse for EACH fan. They are either off or on, single speed.

'86 CJ7
'04 AEV RUBICON
2015 Grand Cherokee Limited
CJ Chet is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 03-17-2010, 06:41 AM
TheGhost
Registered User
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ Chet View Post
Not two speeds! Just one relay and one fuse for EACH fan. They are either off or on, single speed.
OK - your first post said 2 relays - that through me a little bit as well. What kind of temp switch did you use?
TheGhost is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 03-17-2010, 07:25 AM Thread Starter
Paperboy326
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Battle Creek
Posts: 93
Ok now I am lost do I need 2 of the hayden 3651's? to run both fans? what size fuse?

SCOTT
Paperboy326 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Wiring Fan (Ford Contour) stephens_cj5 Jeep CJ Forum 14 05-21-2012 01:05 PM
Contour Fan Set-up StewartCJ7 Jeep CJ Forum 8 01-06-2010 11:37 PM
Another Contour fan question Jeepcat Jeep CJ Forum 1 07-16-2008 06:30 PM
Another Contour fan thread cj7kevin Jeep CJ Forum 4 05-17-2008 01:15 PM
350 and Ford Taurus Fans Jeff5886 Jeep CJ Forum 18 10-27-2007 08:05 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome