First time Jeep owner need tech advise - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > First time Jeep owner need tech advise

TJ 5.25" Speaker Adapters - NalinMFGNitro Gear Packages Now Available at Rockridge 4wdNEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WD

Unread 12-02-2009, 10:31 AM   #1
luca_marine
1985 CJ7 

First time Jeep owner need tech advise

Hey guys! I'm new to the whole Jeep owning experience... and wouldn't you know it i bought an 85 CJ7. (please hold your laughter) anyhow, I've loved Jeeps for years and finally decided that it was time to get one. I found this little beauty on craigslist for 3900 and got the guy down to only 3500 for it. As far as i can tell its bone stock... with the exception for the aftermarket rims and tires (31x10.50x15 Pro Comp Xtreme) So here's my question, I am in the Marines and i have to keep it safe enough to get it through the gate to drive back and forth to work, yet i want to do some work to this thing. What kinds of suggestions would you guys have and what are some of the "best bang for the buck" upgrades that i can get for this thing. I want to lift it and probably run like 35's in the future. I'm just another weekend warrior that may occasionally run through some mud. But other than that I'd like it to be a daily driver. also for you guys in the south i'm looking for a reputable shop that could help me with the mods that i would like to do.

Patrick from South Carolina

also i'd like to post a pic here but not sure how... i know.... NOOB

luca_marine is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-02-2009, 11:13 AM   #2
h2ojeep
1978 CJ7 

I will give you the advise that I have practice. I drove from West Texas to Northern Calf to get my current jeep, so the laugh may be on me. However I am pleased with what I have.