First jeep and first problems! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > First jeep and first problems!

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsLabor Day Sale!

Unread 03-02-2013, 11:42 AM   #1
McMillanDMD

First jeep and first problems!

First - thank you guys for all the info. I've learned a LOT from this site already! I'm new to jeeps and semi new to working on cars.

I just bought a jeep about 3 weeks ago - getting married in 2 weeks from today so it's been a good way to take my mind off the wedding haha.

84 CJ 4cy. When I bought it, it was driving well. Got it home. Took it out for a few spins over the next couple of days - less than 3 miles.

My soon to be wife wanted to practice with a 5 speed - it's been a while. Went to a parking lot and she stalled after a few minutes and it would not start back up had to walk home - she was ok with it only about 1/2 mile walk thankfully.

It would turn over fine. Could smell gas so I assume plenty is getting to the carb - battery died starting it so I charged it. After about 2 hrs of it sitting it fired up and drove home. Still wasn't running great. It kept wanting to stall under load.

I have read about some of the issues so I started with the fuel filter (cheap and easy) - new filter and made sure to move the return line to the top. Didn't fix it.

I read about the Ignition Module... I want to try it next but can't figure out where it is.

The jeep looks to have been through a lot of "quick fixes" and wiring is a nightmare.

Couple of other questions. What is the part with the black hose coming off the intake manifold? The hose is not attached - just been curious to start identifying everything.

Also what is the box beside the starter solenoid with the wires running into it?