Figure this out and you are a Jeep GOD; hesitation in traffic but runs fine on hwy - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Figure this out and you are a Jeep GOD; hesitation in traffic but runs fine on hwy

Savvy Billet LED Tail LightsWant to be able to SEE? DOT Approved Headlights for under We have FLASHLIGHTS! Great for your Emergency bag!

Unread 08-05-2010, 03:31 AM   #16
KMD
1976 CJ7 

I am with Biotex and the EGR theory. It was the first thing that came to my mind. Especially if it idles really low.

Unread 08-06-2010, 12:23 AM   #17
Jantelagom
1980 CJ5 

I'm pretty new at auto repair, but I've been having similar acceleration problems in town and lower speeds that go away at higher speeds.

My brain went to the fuel system first but I changed my spark plugs, air filter and PCV filter and the problem has vanished. Good luck! Let us know what works.

Last edited by Jantelagom; 08-06-2010 at 02:29 AM..
Jantelagom is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-06-2010, 01:45 AM   #18
carnuck
1984 J-Series Truck 

EGR or maybe choke sticking?

'81 Eagle wagon with upgrades $2500
'87 Comanche shortbox 4.0/AW4/NP242 on 33" tires $3500
carnuck is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-06-2010, 02:04 PM   #19
Mike Romain
1986 CJ7 

You have some good ideas to check out, just unplugging the EGR and blocking it's line is a fast test for that and i have seen the manifold gasket act like that.

There is also a $2.00 air filter on the gas tank vent that can cause symptoms like you mention when it gets plugged up. It puts a vacuum on the gas tank which starves the carb for fuel. Likely in need of a change anyway.