fiberglass tub and wiring harness - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-28-2001, 11:02 PM Thread Starter
OlllllllO JEEP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: overland park ks
Posts: 5
Red face fiberglass tub and wiring harness

I am about to ATTEMPT to install a new fiberglass tub on a 1980 CJ7. The wiring scares me. Has anyone ever done a tub before? Is it difficult? Should I fork up the $$ and pay someone to do it right? How do I find out about getting a wiring harness? If you have any answers for me please send them to IMNOTYOU@aol.com Thanks for your hellp.


1980 CJ7...304 Automatic...few mods. Edelbrock intake and 4bbl...headers. Nothing major...but it is a JEEP!
OlllllllO JEEP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-28-2001, 11:40 PM
Crash&Burn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 294
Post

Do you still have your old harness? It should work ok, just have to run ground wires to each device.
OLLLLLO--are you in the KC Jeep Club??

1979 CJ7 (YJ tub) full cage, Currie 9inch rear with Warn full float kit, detroit locker, 456 gears both ends, Lockrite in front, T 18 trans, 360, 040 over, Isky cam, 2 into 1 Flowmaster exhaust

I'm not as good as I once was....but I'm good once as I ever was.
Crash&Burn is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-29-2001, 09:53 AM
glm 87 wrangler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Fayetteville NC
Posts: 271
Post

Well you may be in luck with a cj7 they make painless wire systems for them and they from what i hear are fairly easy to install.They are marked so you know were are the wires go.They dont make them for an 87 wrangler so i myself am not in luck.But i have seen them and they look fairly easy.You can try 4x4 hardware or jeepdoc.com They may have them instock.Good luck

Gary 87 Wrangler 4.2 258 with weber carb and TFI upgrade.
31/10.5 and Nutter bypass!
glm 87 wrangler is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 12-29-2001, 09:50 PM
G Beasley
Registered User
2005 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Eden
Posts: 5,701
Post

The painless harness is easy or you can use your stock harness with a return ground on everything . On your jeep the tub acts as the ground and you lose this when you go to fiberglass . Even with my painless harness I have a bussbar with a direct ground to the frame under the dash . It makes it a lot easier than pulling a ground for everything to the frame and it leaves under the dash neat and relativley wire free . Hope this helps and happy jeepin .

Free stickers and picture hosting at Jeep-Owner.com
G Beasley is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-30-2001, 06:57 AM
Iver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Muskegon, MI
Posts: 11
Post

Ive done 2 fiberglass bodies so far. If you dont have any electrical experience, its going to be tough to try and reuse your old harness, especially if it has been damaged. You may want to buy a new harness, they are not real hard to put in. If youve got some electrical Knowledge, then i suggest just using your old one. Just remember that which ever way you go, you need run a ground wire from all lights,and guages to the frame. Run one ground wire from the metal dash board to the frame, this will take care of all the gauges on the dashboard. Run a ground wire to frame from all your lights, front, rear, and side markers. Run ground wire to frame from the fuel sending unit.Be sure to ground the starter solenoid also, or it will never turn over. Buy yourself a Haynes manual. They have wiring diagrams in them which will be very helpful. Good Luck
Iver is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-10-2002, 08:27 PM
AeroViper1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 93
Post

I don't know if you've already installed everything...but Centech's Harness....(JP)...Is a good one...plus it's $100 cheaper...Just put it in my 84 CJ7, Has instructions for fiberglass bodies and how to ground
AeroViper1 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-12-2002, 01:26 PM
manhattanjeep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manhattan, KS
Posts: 24
Post

I would definitely go with a new harness. The wires in your jeep are old, and it would be worth it to have new wires, and a new fuse block to work with. Good luck. Post some pics when you are done.

76 CJ5
Real Jeeps are not bought, they're built!!!
manhattanjeep is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
CJ5 Wiring Harness atom73 Jeep CJ Forum 14 08-18-2011 11:34 AM
Wiring Harness ? WayneMeuir Jeep CJ Forum 16 02-06-2010 05:14 PM
Wiring Harness by EZ 47redwillys Jeep CJ Forum 5 08-28-2009 10:41 PM
86 Cj No Wiring Harness???? BRS6482 Jeep CJ Forum 3 05-26-2009 09:06 AM
CJ5 Wiring harness Calavan11 Jeep CJ Forum 5 11-16-2007 11:46 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome