Engine won't crank - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Engine won't crank

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 11-03-2008, 01:29 PM   #1
justinzoso
1977 FSJ Cherokee 

Engine won't crank

I am new to CJ's but not to Jeeps. I just bought a 80' CJ5 not running. When I try to start it...it just ticks like a low battery would. I beleive it has a 4.2L AMC but still green about the CJ's. any help? Thanx in advance.

justinzoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-03-2008, 01:34 PM   #2
whittlecj
1980 CJ7 

Battery good? Battery Cables good and on tight - ofter overlooked cause. I had similar symptoms and found issues with the starter solenoid on my 80 and had to replace it.
whittlecj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-03-2008, 01:37 PM   #3
Mike Romain
1986 CJ7 

That sounds like a low battery...

If the battery is good, then it is a bad connection, usually at the fender solenoid. They corrode easy.

One way to sometimes find the bad connection is to try it a couple times, then 'carefully' feel the ends of the main battery cables. If you find a hot one, you have found a connection problem.
Some Canadian Bush Jeep Runs and Build Photos: http://mikeromainjeeptrips.shutterfly.com (10 new albums added Sept 16/10)
Mike Romain is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-03-2008, 04:42 PM   #4
justinzoso
1977 FSJ Cherokee