Engine Swap 99 5.7 Vortec Into Cj8 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Engine Swap 99 5.7 Vortec Into Cj8

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRuffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO

Unread 01-28-2010, 04:15 PM   #1
Rasshopper
1982 CJ8 

Engine Swap 99 5.7 Vortec Into Cj8

Since I'm new to this Forum, I would ask that anyone that may read this Post understand that I'm not good with computer lingo. I have run a couple of searches for this subject but have not had any joy for an answer. So here goes. I'm in the process of installing a Vortec 5.7 Gen II from a 99 Suburban (engine with oem wiring only) into my 82 CJ8. At present the J8 has an older 74 350 chevy engine with a NV4500 trani and a Dana 300 behind it. I need to get as much info on any problems anyone may have come acrossed on a simular prodject. Any links to other sources. My main questions have to do with the fuel system. Can I run an external fuel pump with return or do I need to install a new tank with an intank pump? I don't want to run the external pump dry while wheeling on a steep incline in low fuel conditions (1/4 tank or lower). Thanks in advance for advice and any other help on this type of project.

Rasshopper is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2010, 04:47 PM   #2
Matt_G
1979 CJ5 

make friends with balijeeper. he just got a vortec 6.0 to go in his CJ7 so he probably knows whats going on. but he bought it new (i think) and i don't know if he said he was going to do it himself or what.
Matt_G is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2010, 04:55 PM   #3
kickingprop
1985 CJ7