Engine start - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Engine start

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! Clayton Off Road JK Short Arm Suspension Kits

Reply
Unread 06-11-2013, 05:49 PM   #16
LeePrather
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Jefferson, Ga
Posts: 619
It is. I installed a painless harness

LeePrather is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-11-2013, 05:53 PM   #17
LumpyGrits
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Mojave Desert Palmdale Ca. U.S.A.
Posts: 4,840
OK-"painless" that'll explain much.. I have found'e to be more 'pain-n-arse'.....LOL
Is it a tube or GM blade type?
LG
LumpyGrits is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-11-2013, 06:00 PM   #18
LeePrather
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Jefferson, Ga
Posts: 619
Gm type and that fixed the issue. Lol I have been sweating this thing for a few days now...I just happened to think last ditch
LeePrather is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-11-2013, 06:42 PM   #19
LumpyGrits
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Mojave Desert Palmdale Ca. U.S.A.
Posts: 4,840
Keep an eye on it.......That fuse blew for a REASON.
Is it run'n now?
LG
LumpyGrits is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-11-2013, 07:26 PM   #20
LeePrather
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Jefferson, Ga
Posts: 619
It is running like a champ and I definitely agree it blew for a reason. Now it's time to work on the engine temp running hot and oil pressure gauge melting (3 times now). I like the painless harness so far
LeePrather is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-11-2013, 07:42 PM   #21
LumpyGrits
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Mojave Desert Palmdale Ca. U.S.A.
Posts: 4,840
Run'n hot--Do a 'rod-out' on that radiator. Your just chase'n your tail till you do that.
Also make sure your ign timing is correct and your not run'n 'lean' in your carb. Pull the s'plugs and read the tip color.
Oil pressure gauge melts, WTH?? Is it mech or ele?
LG
LumpyGrits is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-11-2013, 07:58 PM   #22
LeePrather
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Jefferson, Ga
Posts: 619
Electrical, but that's changing tomorrow...already picked out a 3 gauge mechanical Sunpro set I'm going to buy.
LeePrather is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-11-2013, 08:23 PM   #23
LumpyGrits
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Mojave Desert Palmdale Ca. U.S.A.
Posts: 4,840
You have a high amp current flow issue if your melt'n ele oil pressure gauges.
Find out the why........before you have an ele. fire.
LG
LumpyGrits is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-12-2013, 12:09 AM   #24
rah2eq
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 108
I also had a couple of oil pressure gauges melt on me. I used the electrical ones that look stock. The +12V hot wire will melt it if you connect it to the terminal near the plus sign on the gauge. Turns out that is for the voltmeter gauge that uses the same backing. I switched the wiring to the correct way on a new gauge and mine has been fine.
__________________
1978 CJ5 - 304 V8 - Twin Sticked and sitting on 35's
2010 JK- Rock Krawler 2.5" on 35" KM2's
rah2eq is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-12-2013, 05:22 AM   #25
LeePrather
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Jefferson, Ga
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by rah2eq
I also had a couple of oil pressure gauges melt on me. I used the electrical ones that look stock. The +12V hot wire will melt it if you connect it to the terminal near the plus sign on the gauge. Turns out that is for the voltmeter gauge that uses the same backing. I switched the wiring to the correct way on a new gauge and mine has been fine.
I'm pretty sure that's what's happening to me too so I'm just gonna go mechanical instead
LeePrather is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-12-2013, 07:57 PM   #26
LeePrather
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Jefferson, Ga
Posts: 619
An update, mechanical gauges are the best! (And it seems my sending unit wire was trapped under the solenoid and rubbed to bare wire). Lol...
LeePrather is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.