Engine Rebuild - How far should I go? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Engine Rebuild - How far should I go?

Hella Rallye 1000 Series 12-Volt/55-Watt Black Magic HalogFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! Jeep Wrangler Hurricane Flat Fender Flare Kits for 2007-20

Unread 02-12-2012, 10:43 AM   #1
slumley1
1985 CJ7 

Engine Rebuild - How far should I go?

I posted this in the FSJ section but I always get such great support in here for my CJ7 that I decided to post it in here as well. An AMC360/401 is the same regardless of which section it is in. If anyone minds this being posted in here, please remove.

I started with a stock 82 Cherokee with 85k miles. I'm not a mechanic at all and planned to learn as I go. It had an old gummed up 2 barrel carb that I wanted to replace. I decided on an Edelbrock 4 barrel 600 cfm carb. I found that I needed to install a 4 barrel intake manifold so I got an Edelbrock performer Intake. In the process of putting these new parts on I found that there were several cracks in the head and there was so much burnt oil that you could barely even see the valve springs or rockers. I was fortunate to get another set of heads from someone and just picked them up from having them rebuilt. I will have it all the way down to the block before I begin putting the parts back on. Am I making a big mistake by installing the new heads, intake manifold, and carb without rebuilding the block? I was thinking of getting a new block and tehn just slowly build it out of the engine. Perhaps a 401 block. What could I reuse from my 360 and what would I need to replace? Crank, rods, etc? Thoughts?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

slumley1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-12-2012, 10:44 AM   #2
slumley1