engine dies... any advice ? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > engine dies... any advice ?

VIAIR compressors at ROCKRIDGE4WD!! DEALS INSIDE!50" LED CREE Light Bar Pair With Wiring KitIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 03-20-2015, 10:43 PM   #1
KevinHD
1984 CJ7 

engine dies... any advice ?

This forum has been very helpful.
I recently started using this Jeep after it sat for 10 years.
It was running rough & wouldn't idle much below 1000 rpm. The local mechanics' solution was to set curb idle at 1500 rpm... so...
I studied several threads, did the nutter a couple days ago and reworked vac hoses this morning.
There's been a noticeable improvement every step of the way. It runs much smoother, has more power than before and will idle at 650 rpm.
I still have work to do...
A couple issues present before nutter still exist... an occaisional sputter (?) in the exhaust like it almost stalls but recovers... and the most pressing matter... while driving, when you aproach a near stop the engine dies when you step on the clutch and let off the gas.
before nutter when coming to a stop, you had to rev it for awhile till I guess the cpu controls caught up and it was able to maintain idle. now after nutter and vac lines, it's a fairly short interval, just a quick punch on the gas pedal and it's fine.
Still, it's rather inconvenient.
Tomorrow I plan to cap the canister and erg lines to eliminate that possibilty. Plus I still need to adjust the fuel air mixture screws. I held off on that till the timing light arrived.
That's the story. The question is why does it die when coming off throttle ?