Engine coolant temperature sensor location - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Engine coolant temperature sensor location

Rockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4wG2 Disc Brake Conversion Kit for Jeep Wrangler YJ TJ LJ Ch

Unread 04-17-2012, 03:31 PM   #1
mminorhsd
1979 CJ7 

Engine coolant temperature sensor location

I'm a newbie to the forum and to jeep ownership. I have a 1979 CJ7, with a 258 cubic inch inline 6 engine. I purchased this as a restoration project.

It appears that someone removed/cut every wire from the gauges except the oil pressure gauge. I want to get all of the gauges working eventually. I'm concentrating on the temperature and fuel gauges. I have seen several really good trouble shooting forums on here. However, I have a very simple question. Where is the engine coolant temperature sensor located on the engine. I see something that appears to be installed in the head, under the left side of the carb as you look at the engine from the front of the jeep. It appears to be a copper tube that someone cut with diagonal cutters. Could this be what I am looking for. Nothing on the engine other than the oil pressure unit has any wires attached.

1979 CJ 7, 258 cubic inch restoration project.
mminorhsd is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-17-2012, 03:48 PM   #2
davbytrace
1979 CJ7 

If my memory serves me correct, when I had a 258 IL6, it was next to the firewall.

As you are sitting in the jeep, it is on the left side of the engine, at the back. You will see a 3/8 or 7/16 thread brass fitting sticking up out of the head with 1/8 inch bolt threads on it. Thats where the coolant temp sensor wire goes. I think the wire is purple.