Emissions Results Help - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Emissions Results Help

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectJKS Now Available at www.baseline4x4.com, Trackbars, SkidsFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Reply
Unread 07-02-2013, 01:20 PM   #16
texas1al
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 62
Agreed, the engine should die with the idle screws all the way in (be gentle as you bottom them out). Sounds like your throttle plate might be open enough to bypass the idle circuit. What's your RPM at your current idle setting? Is the carb a BBD with the stepper motor on the back or a non-feedback Carter?

texas1al is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2013, 02:15 PM   #17
KnoxButler
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 149
Ok I figured out that the screws went all the way in, when I got them actual seated the engine did die. Now heres my problem, the tach in my jeep doesnt work at the moment and I want to set the idle screw so that the engine idles at 600-800rpm before I dial in the mixture screws. I dont know how im going to achieve this without buying an expensive tach replacement.
-Knox
KnoxButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2013, 02:31 PM   #18
scrapman
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 703
My jeep has no Tach either. I have no idea what RPM mine is idling at. I just always set it by ear.
scrapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2013, 02:44 PM   #19
LumpyGrits
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Mojave Desert Palmdale Ca. U.S.A.
Posts: 4,800
Go buy one.......
http://www.sears.com/actron-dwell-ta...a=00902165000P

LG
LumpyGrits is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2013, 02:54 PM   #20
texas1al
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 62
Yeah, you can set the idle rpm by ear. Tough to describe, but 600 rpm is a getting near a pretty slow rumble (if that term can be applied to a 258!) and 800 will be a smoother higher pitch. If you get it in between, that should be about right, maybe 650-750 rpm. As a point of reference, my well-worn 258 won't idle well below 550rpm at which point it shakes and stumbles, but anything less than 600rpm will sound awfully slow to anyone who's been around cars. The other option is to see if you can borrow/rent a digital timing light with RPM counter or just buy a $50 automotive multimeter with RPM functionality.
texas1al is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2013, 03:00 PM   #21
KnoxButler
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 149
I understand that I could buy one online but my trouble is time... i have to have it registered soon and to register it i have to get it through emissions, to get it through emissions i have to lean everything out...

-Knox
KnoxButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2013, 03:29 PM   #22
texas1al
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 62
They have digital multimeters with RPM count at Advance Auto Parts for around $50 (in-store last time I was there). I would just get it idling in the ballpark by ear and then lean out the idle mixture screws to try to get close to lean best idle. Anything leaner than where you've got it should help with the emissions idle reading. If you're worried that your idle RPM will still be too high (transitioning you out of the idle circuit in the carb), just set RPM's a hair higher than the point where it stumbles and shakes. That should ensure your throttle plate is closed and you're in the idle circuit.
texas1al is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2013, 06:03 PM   #23
Jon In Tucson
Jesus Is Lord!
 
Jon In Tucson's Avatar
1983 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnoxButler View Post
I understand that I could buy one online but my trouble is time... i have to have it registered soon and to register it i have to get it through emissions, to get it through emissions i have to lean everything out...

-Knox
Knox,
Get a dwell/tach. Not terribly expensive, and you will use it again. If you want I have one, maybe two out in the chaos, called my shop. Let me know if I can help. God bless.
Jon In Tucson
__________________
Jeremiah 17:7 "But blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence in Him."

"The secret to a Jeep, especially a CJ, is you can't
panic." - Mike

"I may not be a smart man, Jenny, but I do know grounds."
Jon In Tucson is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2013, 07:21 PM   #24
KnoxButler
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 149
Update: So I installed all of the CTO emissions stuff all of my vacuum lines are fresh etc. Adjusted my mixture screws to 2 1/2 turns....

Now my engine runs like crap, the flutter returned and it looses power at the top end... I tried enriching my mixture and that helps a little but thats not going to help my emissions problem.

Im frustrated that I had it running supper smooth all the time and now with all those stupid CTO hoses etc. it runs just as bad as when I first got the car.

Any suggestions of things I might have overlooked?
KnoxButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2013, 07:41 PM   #25
KnoxButler
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 149
Jon I might have to take you up on that offer. I need to figure out this emissions thing soon. I just dont know what to do next. Getting the egr hooked up right was my last idea.
KnoxButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-04-2013, 11:50 AM   #26
KnoxButler
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 149
UPDATE: Problem solved, I capped the vacuum advance and adjusted the timing down to 8* (it had been way way high 20+ BTDC) then reconnected the advance to manifold vacuum and it ran great except for the idle being a little lower that it should be (adjusted for emissions).
So set the mixture screws to 2 1/2 turns out from seated. I think im going to do one last check for vacuum leaks and take it in to get tested again tomorrow.

What do you guys thing?
KnoxButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-04-2013, 12:08 PM   #27
LumpyGrits
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Mojave Desert Palmdale Ca. U.S.A.
Posts: 4,800
Bump the idle up to 700-800rpms.
Take it for a long drive to clean out and get the cat good and hot before you go for the test.
BEST OF LUCK!
LG
LumpyGrits is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-04-2013, 12:54 PM   #28
KnoxButler
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 149
I think the idle is in that area. I will definitely take it for a long drive before hand.
Thanks LG
KnoxButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-05-2013, 02:34 PM   #29
scrapman
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 703
Did it pass emissions?
scrapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-05-2013, 02:36 PM   #30
KnoxButler
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 149
Im still working on it, most of my posts have been on this thread http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/cj...-help-1541274/
KnoxButler is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.