Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of Old 02-09-2009, 05:42 PM Thread Starter
jatepper
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,300
DUI install with factory tach

Did a search and found some information about tracing the red wire from the ignition module to supply power to the DUI.

Can someone clarify this? I looked at the module and could not tell exactly which wire to splice in to. Will my factory tach still work?


Currently Jeepless!
jatepper is offline  
post #2 of Old 02-09-2009, 06:02 PM
BioTex
Registered User
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Alpine, Tx.
Posts: 3,173
Does this help?
Attached Thumbnails
tachometer_sketch.jpg  

'85 CJ7, BDS 4" lift, 1" Body lift, 33x12.5, Shrockworks Sliders, 304 V8 with RV cam., T-176, D300, Dana 30, AMC 20.
1986 CJ10-A SD-33 Diesel/727/np208
1971 800B with 345/T-19
06' TJ Rubicon, 4" R.C. springs, BFG/AT 35s M.C. 6" fenders, rockers and surrounds, Currie front & rear adj. tracbars, tattons DC rear shaft, adj. upper - lower CA's. Bilstein 5100's
YJ Buggy Build Current project. Stroker/FI ?
1990 MJ Comanche 4.0L AX15/np231
BioTex is offline  
post #3 of Old 02-09-2009, 06:18 PM Thread Starter
jatepper
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,300
Well thats just the wiring diagram. Does the ignition coil postive terminal connect to power the DUI and the tach will still work? If so, I just remove from the bulkhead, splice, and have at it?

Thanks

Currently Jeepless!
jatepper is offline  
post #4 of Old 02-09-2009, 07:08 PM
jcal73
TOO FAT FOR A CJ5
 
jcal73's Avatar
1979 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alabama Roll Tide
Posts: 1,164
Jatepper,

I used a relay switched from ignition power to power my DUI.

Here is a relay explanation that is from JEEPHAMMER it is his and can be a useful reference.



You would want to connect

battery to 30

Output to the DUI on 87

Ignition power on 85

Ground on 86.


Jeff
jcal73 is online now  
post #5 of Old 02-09-2009, 07:11 PM Thread Starter
jatepper
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,300
Thanks, but I was wondering how to wire the thing up so my factory tach still works.

Currently Jeepless!
jatepper is offline  
post #6 of Old 02-09-2009, 07:13 PM
jcal73
TOO FAT FOR A CJ5
 
jcal73's Avatar
1979 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alabama Roll Tide
Posts: 1,164
Sorry I stupid!

Jeff
jcal73 is online now  
post #7 of Old 02-09-2009, 08:36 PM
sweetguardian00
Registered User
1946 CJ2A 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 573
the signal is different, the factory AMC tach didnt work on my HEI install (it actually bobbed to the radio, go figure!)

1946 CJ-2A 225/T90/D18
1966 CJ-5 231/T86/D18
1986 CJ-7 258/TF999/D300
1984 C-10 6.2/SM465
Yeah it's a Diesel
sweetguardian00 is offline  
post #8 of Old 02-09-2009, 08:41 PM
BioTex
Registered User
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Alpine, Tx.
Posts: 3,173
I found this from one of JH posts, I knew I read this somewhere, since I purchased a factory tach, and was trying tofigure out how to wire it. I have all that info stored on a different computer, so no access to it right now.

If you have a FACTORY TACH, you will need to trace the module 'Red' power wire back in the harness where it hooks up to a 10 Ga. wire, and splice in there.

He wrote this in a thread discussing how to wire in a DUI. The red 10Ga. wire is BW in the picture
Attached Thumbnails
FirewallplugDetails.jpg  

'85 CJ7, BDS 4" lift, 1" Body lift, 33x12.5, Shrockworks Sliders, 304 V8 with RV cam., T-176, D300, Dana 30, AMC 20.
1986 CJ10-A SD-33 Diesel/727/np208
1971 800B with 345/T-19
06' TJ Rubicon, 4" R.C. springs, BFG/AT 35s M.C. 6" fenders, rockers and surrounds, Currie front & rear adj. tracbars, tattons DC rear shaft, adj. upper - lower CA's. Bilstein 5100's
YJ Buggy Build Current project. Stroker/FI ?
1990 MJ Comanche 4.0L AX15/np231
BioTex is offline  
post #9 of Old 02-09-2009, 08:47 PM Thread Starter
jatepper
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by BioTex View Post
I found this from one of JH posts, I knew I read this somewhere, since I purchased a factory tach, and was trying tofigure out how to wire it. I have all that info stored on a different computer, so no access to it right now.

If you have a FACTORY TACH, you will need to trace the module 'Red' power wire back in the harness where it hooks up to a 10 Ga. wire, and splice in there.

He wrote this in a thread discussing how to wire in a DUI. The red 10Ga. wire is BW in the picture

EXACTLY what I was looking for. So, the DUI will get its power directly from here, correct?? And, this is located on the engine comparment side of the firewall just under the brake booster, correct??

Currently Jeepless!
jatepper is offline  
post #10 of Old 02-09-2009, 09:11 PM
BioTex
Registered User
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Alpine, Tx.
Posts: 3,173
Yes, if you look inside the wire loom, you will see that wire BW is a 10 guage red. This is the wire I used to hook up my HEI.

'85 CJ7, BDS 4" lift, 1" Body lift, 33x12.5, Shrockworks Sliders, 304 V8 with RV cam., T-176, D300, Dana 30, AMC 20.
1986 CJ10-A SD-33 Diesel/727/np208
1971 800B with 345/T-19
06' TJ Rubicon, 4" R.C. springs, BFG/AT 35s M.C. 6" fenders, rockers and surrounds, Currie front & rear adj. tracbars, tattons DC rear shaft, adj. upper - lower CA's. Bilstein 5100's
YJ Buggy Build Current project. Stroker/FI ?
1990 MJ Comanche 4.0L AX15/np231
BioTex is offline  
post #11 of Old 02-10-2009, 02:52 AM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 14,893
John Strenk is offline  
post #12 of Old 02-10-2009, 06:48 AM
wendell
Registered User
1987 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: grafton ohio
Posts: 3,286
Some of the HEI distributers on ebay come with the tach adapter and some even come with the hook up for MSD 6 or the off/road box, it's just plug and play.

1987 wrangler, 258 I-6, 5-speed.
2007 liberty sport 4X4, automatic
2009 ford ranger 4x4 FX4 OFF/ROAD, 5-speed
wendell is offline  
post #13 of Old 02-10-2009, 07:19 AM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 14,893
Make sure the Tach adapter works with sireis Tachs. Many just work with Aftermarket tachs. You can't miss hooking it up the way shown above.
John Strenk is offline  
post #14 of Old 02-10-2009, 05:09 PM
JeepHammer
Running On Empty...
1973 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West Indiana
Posts: 11,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by jatepper View Post
Did a search and found some information about tracing the red wire from the ignition module to supply power to the DUI.

Can someone clarify this? I looked at the module and could not tell exactly which wire to splice in to. Will my factory tach still work?
There is a power wire that comes from the ignition switch, through the bulk head fitting, and out to a number of things.
Usually, it feeds the Ignition module, Ignition coil through a resistor, and it 'Excites' the alternator so it starts charging.

If you take the two wire connector that plugs into your ignition module,
And use this gadget,
http://store.summitracing.com/partde...0&autoview=sku



You can plug your new HEI clone right into the part on the left with the Red & White wires.

This piece shown on the left plugs into the harness side of that module 2 wire connector, and will keep your factory 'Series' tach working just fine with the clone HEI's.

With this gadget, you simply unplug your module two wire connector,
Plug this thing into the harness side,
Then run a wire from the Crimp terminal at the top over to your HEI clone.
Use at least a 12 Ga. wire size, and you shouldn't have a problem with your factory Series type tach.

You will only use the part on the right, the 'SAE' plug and little connectors shouldn't be needed for your HEI clone.
--------------------------------------

John, notice that SUMMIT has a diode in their feed?
Remember the crap Dale gave me about having a diode in my 'Stealth HEI' set up?...
JeepHammer is offline  
post #15 of Old 02-10-2009, 07:14 PM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 14,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepHammer View Post

John, notice that SUMMIT has a diode in their feed?
Remember the crap Dale gave me about having a diode in my 'Stealth HEI' set up?...
Funny thing, I was tracing out a cheap DuraSpark module circuit board about 15 min ago and I said. "Well, they even have a diode on the board on that wire."

One of these days I'll have top draw up that circuit. I bet the OEM is way different than these cheap substitutes.

I'm going to add one onto my Stealth box also. Time I pulled out the new Digital scope out anyway.
John Strenk is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
factory tach ??? azzkikr1 Jeep CJ Forum 11 03-03-2009 02:33 PM
'75 CJ factory tach BrandyMB Jeep CJ Forum 0 12-24-2007 08:27 PM
Factory Tach basscj7 Jeep CJ Forum 11 12-10-2007 11:19 AM
HEI with factory tach??? texashighridin Jeep CJ Forum 10 01-08-2007 07:49 AM
factory tach? certifiablejeep Jeep CJ Forum 5 01-14-2003 07:54 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome