Dropping the tank on my 79 CJ7 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Dropping the tank on my 79 CJ7

FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueTrick Tabs - NalinMFG.comECGS American Made Stub Shafts

Unread 07-29-2009, 10:58 PM   #1
Skinnyfeet
1979 CJ7 

Dropping the tank on my 79 CJ7

Well, something has been clogging up my fuel lines so it looks like this weekend I'll be dropping the tank and cleaning out the gunk that has accumulated over the years. Does anybody have any tips from past tank pulling experience they'd like to share? I'm no mechanic by any stretch, but Haynes makes it look pretty straight forward.

Is there anything else I should do while I have it out (sending unit??)?

Skinnyfeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-30-2009, 05:36 AM   #2
Mike1084
1979 CJ7 

Check the short rubber hoses from the supply and return hard lines to the tank. I found mine had deteriorated pretty badly. As long as the tank is down its cheap preventative maint.
Mike1084 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-30-2009, 05:49 AM   #3
UbelGeist
1978 CJ7 

I would just replace the tank and sending unit while your in there. It isn't that expensive and if you have corrosion in the tank, no matter how many times you go in and clean the thing you are still going to get crap in your filter.
UbelGeist is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-30-2009, 06:33 AM   #4
CJ7VFR

Don't be surprised if your tank is rusted on the inside, and needs to be replaced. If there is gunk and crap
in the fuel system, its usually from rust and corrosion inside the tank coming loose, not from the gas.

You may want to buy yourself a new tank ahead of time if you use your Jeep as a daily driver. If not, you