Does this look right - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-06-2014, 03:37 PM Thread Starter
Tfain
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lutz
Posts: 619
Does this look right

Tying to figure out why my speedo doesn't work today. I took the cable off and did the drill test and it worked fine so I took the speedo gear out of the t-case thinking that would be broken. It looks fine to me but thought I would post a pic and ask you guys and see if this is ok what to check for next

Attached Images
   
Tfain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-06-2014, 04:37 PM Thread Starter
Tfain
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lutz
Posts: 619
I found the problem. Not sure what the solution is though. If I tighten the speedo cable all the way it won't work. I have it only on half way right now and it works fine now. Could the cable be to long?
Tfain is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-06-2014, 06:01 PM
strvger01
Registered User
1966 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Two Harbors
Posts: 1,111
don't know about the length, but you could just thread it on half way using lock-tite to keep it there.
good luck to you.

1966 CJ5A, mods are coming
1966 Wagoneer, bone stock
strvger01 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-06-2014, 07:28 PM
Mike Romain
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Off the Grid in Chester Grant
Posts: 18,090
Lol! 100% for sure, it just happened to another gent on a thread here today. The cores are universal replacements you cut to size, he just cut 1/4" off his and it works.

Mike
86/00 CJ7 Laredo, 33x9.5 BFG AT's, 'glass nose to tail in '00, 'New' frame,wires and plumbing in '09. Carter BBD Carbed 4.0 HO in '10.
89 YJ Renegade. BBD Carbed 4.0 HO. Locked front and rear with 33x9.5 BFG AT's
Some Canadian Bush Jeep Runs and Build Photos: http://mikeromainjeeptrips.shutterfly.com (10 new albums added Sept 16/10)
Mike Romain is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-06-2014, 08:45 PM Thread Starter
Tfain
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lutz
Posts: 619
I just cut mine today and it works fine now. Well as good as a 36 year old gauge is going to work. I could tell it was a new cable the PO put in I just never put one in before so didn't know you had to cut them
Tfain is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome