Does this Holley idle linkage look correct? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Does this Holley idle linkage look correct?

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFlowmaster's Force II Axle-back exhaust system for the 201FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Reply
Unread 05-24-2013, 06:19 AM   #1
2Xtreme
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 1,191
Does this Holley idle linkage look correct?

Tried setting my idle speed last night and with the vac advance disconnected could not get the idle below 1000rpm.

Turned the idle screw all the way out until it was no longer touching. Wondering now if there is a linkage or spring hooked up incorrectly.

The following pics show how the linkage and springs are hooked up.









Thanks in advance!

2X

2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2013, 06:36 AM   #2
Ivehad4
Registered User
1978 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: salem, VA
Posts: 133
One thing to check is the adjustment of the accelerator pump linkage. It could be juicing the carb. at idle if its set up too tight. My Holley is different but the instructions call to check it WOT with a feeler gage. For starters make sure its not engaged at all at idle condition.
__________________
1978 CJ7 304/T150
1959 Willys CJ5 F4/T90
1995 XJ 4.0
1998 TJ 4.0
Ivehad4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2013, 06:45 AM   #3
ksk1480
Registered User
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fleetwood, PA
Posts: 9
Check you idle mixture screws. Adjust those first for a good mixture at idle then the speed screw.
ksk1480 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2013, 07:04 AM   #4
swatson454
Mall-crawlin' Hot Rodder
 
swatson454's Avatar
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dripping Springs, TX (soon)
Posts: 4,728
Stupid question here: did you plug the vacuum line? Hey, it happens...


Shawn
__________________
Live in a way that those who know you but don't know God will come to know God because they know you.
swatson454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2013, 07:07 AM   #5
2Xtreme
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 1,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by swatson454 View Post
Stupid question here: did you plug the vacuum line? Hey, it happens...
Stupid me: Nope!
Plugged the vac advance at distributor.
Left vac line open.

No Bueno, huh?
2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2013, 07:14 AM   #6
swatson454
Mall-crawlin' Hot Rodder
 
swatson454's Avatar
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dripping Springs, TX (soon)
Posts: 4,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Xtreme View Post
Stupid me: Nope!
Plugged the vac advance at distributor.
Left vac line open.

No Bueno, huh?
Been there, done that

Plug the nipple at the carb or leave the line plugged into the carb and plug the dizzy end of the hose with a screw or something.


Shawn
__________________
Live in a way that those who know you but don't know God will come to know God because they know you.
swatson454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2013, 07:20 AM   #7
2Xtreme
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 1,191
>>PHEW<<

Simple fix!

Thanks!

2X
2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2013, 08:15 AM   #8
2Xtreme
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 1,191
OK, just to be sure I am clear....

I have to have the (manifold) vacuum line disconnected from the distributor and the port on the distributor plugged.
AND
Plug the (manifold) vacuum line that came off of the distributor...

Correct?
2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2013, 08:27 AM   #9
swatson454
Mall-crawlin' Hot Rodder
 
swatson454's Avatar
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dripping Springs, TX (soon)
Posts: 4,728
You don't have to plug the distributor, just the line.

I usually just pull the line off of the distributor and thread a screw into the end of it (the end of the hose that you pulled off of the distributor).

Savvy?
__________________
Live in a way that those who know you but don't know God will come to know God because they know you.
swatson454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2013, 08:29 AM   #10
2Xtreme
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 1,191
Savvy
2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2013, 10:08 AM   #11
Jack61
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Page, Az
Posts: 434
Vacuum line's need to be hooked up to set idle. Check that your linkage has enough travel, secondary's are closing all the way, that the spacer and gaskets are not interfering with the throttle plates, and that the spacer and gaskets are fully sealing the base of the carb which if they are not would cause a vacuum leak and high idle.
__________________
It used to be, God bless America, it has become God help America
Jack61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2013, 10:20 AM   #12
duffer
Registered User
1955 CJ3B 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack61 View Post
Check that your linkage has enough travel, secondary's are closing all the way,
2x and the adjustment screw is on the bottom of the flange (carb needs removed to get at it).
__________________
1955 CJ 3B, 381cid sbc (441cid all aluminum sbc coming soon), AGE M22W, Teralows, Warn OD, OBA, Premier Power welder, Warn 8274
1968 CJ 5, factory 225" w/ headers/450 cfm Holley, T86AA, Belleview winch, Warn OD
2012 Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited, Warn 9.5 xp-s winch
duffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2013, 01:57 PM   #13
2Xtreme
Registered User
1979 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Schenectady, NY
Posts: 1,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack61
Vacuum line's need to be hooked up to set idle......
Is t this the opposite of what Shawn said?
2Xtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2013, 03:11 PM   #14
Jack61
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Page, Az
Posts: 434
If you leave the vacuum advance line off especially when using manifold vacuum for the advance it will raise the idle by several hundred rpm's when it is reconnected. Only time to disconnect the vacuum advance line is when setting initial timing.
__________________
It used to be, God bless America, it has become God help America
Jack61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-24-2013, 03:28 PM   #15
swatson454
Mall-crawlin' Hot Rodder
 
swatson454's Avatar
1983 CJ7 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dripping Springs, TX (soon)
Posts: 4,728
X2

Set timing with no vacuum and make all carb adjustments with everything hooked back up.


Shawn
__________________
Live in a way that those who know you but don't know God will come to know God because they know you.
swatson454 is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.