dana 30 4wd stuck - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > dana 30 4wd stuck

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~Advance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 11-07-2013, 12:17 PM   #1
gRim11x
1986 CJ7 

dana 30 4wd stuck

Hello all I have a 86 CJ with a dana 30 front. It rolls fine in 2wd but when I put it in 4wd high or low it wont budge any ideas? also I have very little experience with axels but I am eager to learn.

gRim11x is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-07-2013, 12:38 PM   #2
Spieg8
1984 CJ8 

Sounds more like a TC problem than an axle problem... If you lock the front hubs and leave the TC in 2-HI, does the Jeep drive okay? If so, I would check the shifter linkage on the TC. If one of the pins comes out, odd things can happen.
Spieg8 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-07-2013, 12:42 PM   #3
Agent620
1999 TJ Wrangler 

Are the differentials the same ratio? I would check that first.

If you've ever been in that traffic, you would have ground down the steering wheel with a death grip too. "Just ****ing GOOOOOO!!!!"[/QUOTE]
[QUOTE=Luuca;15713642]I pitty anyone who tries to reach into that netting unaware.[/QUOTE]
'99 TJ (DD)
'89 XJ (WIP)
Agent620 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-07-2013, 02:20 PM   #4
Mr_Ranger
1978 CJ5 

Verify that the TC is moving by pulling the front drive shaft and have someone watch the yoke. Move it a few inches. If it turns, drain the fluid from the front axle and remove the differential cover and check the gears.
Mr_Ranger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-07-2013, 02:21 PM   #5
JeepHammer
Running On Empty...
1973 CJ5