Curb Idle near 2000rpm - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Curb Idle near 2000rpm

New DEAL OF THE WEEK at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 03-25-2013, 05:50 PM   #1
SoothSayer
1982 CJ7 

Curb Idle near 2000rpm

Hey All. New to the forum and jeeps in general. I'm a total newb so bear with me. I have an 82 CJ7 w/ BBD. My jeep with choke plate fully open,fast idle not engaged at all, curb idle screw completely backed out still idles around 2000 rpm. I've pulled the spider web vacuum hose setup and replaced with a K&N filter sitting right on top of carb. Also new hose between dist & carb, carb & EGR, PCV valve & hose new. I pulled carb, scrubbed it clean, rebuild w all new gaskets and cleaned all surfaces. Followed FSM for float, vacuum piston, and accelerator pump adjustments. Have adjusted dist timing as well, not sure the setting though. Installed manual choke as well. Stepper motor is plugged in and pins all the way in.

From what I've read this could be the mixture is way too lean. I've tripled checked for vacuum leaks, solid seating of carb to mani, tb to main body, etc.

Side note i've noticed my borla exhaust headers light up red hot after 10 min or so of idling in garage, this could have been happening for a while and I didn't notice it. I'm guessing this is a result of the high rpms or a clogged cat, or both. I'm thinking maybe the timing chain has too much slop in it but I haven't checked that yet. I'm just curious if anyone has any thoughts before I start pulling more things apart.

I'd also like to upgrade to a weber carb but I'm hesitant to go that route if I should address timing chain or something else to fix this rpm issue first.

Thanks.