Cowl Seal replacement with pics... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Cowl Seal replacement with pics...

Ring & Pinion's, Lockers, 4340 Axles, Install Kits, BaRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 02-09-2011, 09:40 AM   #1
Graffxman
1976 CJ7 

Cowl Seal replacement with pics...

After a recent rain, I decided to replace my cowl seal and try to reduce the leaking through the dash of my CJ. I am not a mechanic of any sort, but I'm not afraid to try. ( I was the kid who liked to take stuff apart, and only sometimes got it back together. Even then, there were always spare parts laying around....)

Also, I enjoy reading a lot of the build threads here, so I thought I'd try to take pics and do a small "beginner" thread of my own.

First pics are the existing seal. Notice how it is dry rotted and pulled away from the bottom of the windshield.

cowl-seal-003.jpg
cowl-seal-004.jpg

Unread 02-09-2011, 09:50 AM   #2
Graffxman
1976 CJ7 

First step was to lower the windshield. Had the hard top on, so I had to lift it a couple of inches so the windshield would fold forward.
cowl-seal-006.jpg

The cowl seal is attached with 8 or 9 little screws. They come out easily, then the seal can be removed.

cowl-seal-009.jpg

Here is where the job slowed down. Had quite a bit of rust, though not too deep. I couldn't make myself install the new one over the rust, so I decided to grind it off.

cowl-seal-010.jpg
cowl-seal-012.jpg
Unread 02-09-2011, 09:55 AM   #3
Graffxman
1976 CJ7