Couple o' CJ - YJ interchangeability questions... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Couple o' CJ - YJ interchangeability questions...

JK Front 3 Link Prototype - Clayton Off RoadDon't forget the Jeep Forum discount, 10% off!Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!

Unread 01-03-2012, 05:07 PM   #1
shum8
1980 CJ7 

Couple o' CJ - YJ interchangeability questions...

Noob here again.......Sorta Noob, anyways - The previous CJ's I've owned were all CJ since at that time, that's all there was.

I recently bought a CJ/YJ hybrid as an alrready started project to finish. PO put a YJ tub on an 80 CJ and I figured it must have been an easy swap. In digging around, I've found a few things that beg a question or two.

First, there is no backup light harness. I'm getting ready to order the first batch of stuff, this harness being in the batch. My question is, where does it plug in the the main harness? I know it attaches to the switch on the trans, but it T's from there, and I don't see any empty connectors fpr it to plug into.

Second question - Any easy way to tell whether I have a CJ or YJ heater box? There seems to be a sizeable blast of cold air coming in at the passenger floorboard, so my assumtion is he kept the CJ heater box and stuck it in the YJ tub best he could, and it's not fitting as well as it should.

All my previous CJ's never needed any extensive work - this one is going to be a whole nuther deal. I'm looking forward to fixing this one up - it has several small issues, then it just needs paint. I'm hoping to get it done before you folks get tired of me asking stoopid questions

Shum8

shum8 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-03-2012, 05:13 PM   #2
Ollie09
1983 CJ7 

This thread shows a picture of both.

Gary