Could THIS be the culprit? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Could THIS be the culprit?

The ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! BroughIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LinePoison Spyder JK Evap Skid

Unread 12-07-2012, 09:17 AM   #1
PostDoc
1971 DJ 

Could THIS be the no turn signal culprit? (DJ5 Wiring)

I'm working on a 1971 DJ5b Postal Jeep. As of now, I have flashers but no turn signals. I am a complete novice, but I checked the switches under the dash by swapping them and they are both good. Took the Spartan signal apart and it looks good inside (mechanically, anyway). I'm not yet any good at tracing wiring, and my schematic reading skills are (ahem) "a bit under developed." I did find this little gal' hanging out by itself under the hood. It looks like it splices in to the wiring for the lights and signals (see the last picture - this is the wiring it ties into leading to the front bulbs). Does anyone know if this could be the break in my turn signal circuit? If not (or if so), where does this connect? I suspect it's back up under the dash, but have no idea.
Thanks for your help...

part-1.jpg   part-2.jpg   part-3.jpg   part-4.jpg  

Last edited by PostDoc; 12-08-2012 at 04:22 AM..
PostDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-07-2012, 12:54 PM   #2
SLO_Ken
1986 CJ7 

On later models, the turn signals and emergency flashers have separate flasher units. Not sure if that applies to your '71 though.
SLO_Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-07-2012, 01:27 PM   #3
PostDoc
1971 DJ