Confused on what distributor I have - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Confused on what distributor I have

RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all Truc-Lite LED Headlights! OCONEE OFF-ROAD 706-534-9955Jeep Wrangler Bushwacker Flat Fender Flare Sale at Baselin

Unread 04-04-2011, 09:17 PM   #1
GoWest
1976 CJ7 

Confused on what distributor I have

Noob Here...so first Drinks are on me!

1979 258 I-6

I bought a project and started to do the "Team Rush" upgrade. But my distributor screw holes and recesses (for the screws to hold the distributor together) are 90 degrees from each other. All of the other pictures I have seen (and the spacer I bought) show the screws and recesses about 1-1/2 inches from each other.

Also my new rotor's groove is too wide to fit into the slot on this distributor.

I will try to add pics of what I have. I think the PO did away with any computer wiring too, but i will save that for another thread.

Unread 04-05-2011, 08:00 PM   #2
GoWest
1976 CJ7 

This must be a rare one... Any help is greatly appreciated.
Unread 04-05-2011, 08:09 PM   #3
gojeepin
1983 CJ7 

That's a Prestolite distributor. You can't do the Team Rush upgrad on that one.

If you put an '80s Motorcraft distributor in the Jeep, you can do the upgrade but you'll need a different ignition box. It could be a good time to change to an MSD 6 series (or clone) ignition box.

83 CJ7, 4.1L 6cyl (4.0L bored .030" over), 35" tires, T-5 transmission, Dana 300 TC, Trussed AMC 20.
gojeepin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-05-2011, 08:19 PM   #4
GoWest
1976 CJ7