Coiz 1979 CJ7 Frame Off Resto; picture crazy - Page 20 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > Coiz 1979 CJ7 Frame Off Resto; picture crazy

Savvy Billet LED Tail LightsLight up the holidays with LED lights from JeepHutIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 06-24-2010, 06:03 AM   #286
Exposed

1981 CJ5 

Mike, you are doing a great job and man do I feel for you... Bugs seem to collect around you when you paint like a magnet... I thought my booth was sealed off well until I started painting.. Same deal on the cowl, bug flies in.... Alway on a spot that is seen all the time so can't cover up.... Sorry about the paint and mixing, I know us shade tree painters have enough issues without it being something beyond our control like paint... I also hear you about the time between coats.. Once you get started, you can't stop and take a couple days off and get back on it. After shooting mine, I could now re-shoot and do a much better job seeing how the gun operates, paint lays down, etc..... The hardest thing to shoot for me was the clear on the vertical sections... Keeping it from running... Oh well, yours is looking great so far... As far as the wheel moldings, I sanded with 80 and then 240. I left them rough hoping it would better for adhesion of the primer, basecoat, and clear... When installing them I had to bend them so to fit the wheel opening and so far no peeling or cracking..

81 CJ5, Ford 331 EFI, AX15, D-300, Dana 44 (Detroit Locker)....

When there are more people voting for a living than working for a living,
We are DONE as a Country!!!!!!

Newly Acquired 2014 Grand Cherokee Summit
Exposed is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-24-2010, 07:31 AM   #287
Jim1611
Web Wheeler

1985 CJ7