JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   Jeep CJ Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/)
-   -   clutch (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/clutch-39432/)

joconnor66 05-27-2003 03:28 PM

clutch

how do i replace a stock clutch system? i figure it has already been discussed, but i have never worked on a jeep before and dont want to get everything messed up. i just bought a 79 cj5 with the 258 today. if someone has some diagrams or a step by step way to do it i would appreciate it.

only in a jeep cj 05-27-2003 08:32 PM

Both the Haynes and Chiltons are good for their diagrams and brief step by steps. Even better is the factory manual (M.R.252). Are you sure it's the clutch and not the linkage or something else. I hate to risk sounding like a jerk, but a clutch job is sorta big, both on know-how and tools.....Have you done clutches before? If not, you may not want to jump into it with out knowing Jeeps too much.

joconnor66 05-28-2003 10:16 AM

i was told by the previous owner that it was the clutch. how would i tell if it was the linkage and not the clutch. i drove it and the clutch would smell and it never really engaged. it would just keep reving and once in a while would get a little more grab. that is why i would strongly imagine it is the clutch. i have someone who knows and biulds cars quite often to help me with the clutch if i need it. but the jeep is not my main car by any means so i dont mind if it takes me a week or two to get it in. i was planning on getting the haynes/chilton manual, but where would i get a stock replacement manual? also, would an aftermarket clutch be a great improvement, i ordered, or am about to, the clutch kit from autozone for 120, i assume that is just a stock replacement. for saving probably 500 in labor i dont mind getting into it myself.