Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

CJ7 Turn Signal Wiring Problem

36K views 16 replies 7 participants last post by  aggiejon 
#1 ·
Okay, need a little help. What a great place this is...so happy to have found you all.

My passenter front and passenger front side turn signals are not working. I replaced the entire turn signal and bulb on the front but it didn't help. The old one was completely rusted out so I thought that was surely it. Nope. The wiring coming out of the fuse box is a mess. I can't tell what is going on and I have no experience in this area. I think I've traced the wires to where they enter the box but how do I tell if the problem is in the box or in the wires? I'm not a mechanic but I want to do all the work to my CJ myself unless it's a major overhaul like transmission or something. This looks like a real mess though and it's so greasy I can't even see what I'm working with. Is it okay to use degreaser on the fuse box?
Looks like one fuse controls all turn signals? If so, then it must just be in the wiring and not the box?

While I'm at it...while I was screwing with it the lights on my dash stopped working. Great. Fuses seem fine...

If anyone can link up a diagram of the wiring coming from the fuse box that would be a great start.

See less See more
#2 ·
If you look at your steering column connector under the dash it will have the dash end of the wire which goes out to the turn lamps (the dash connector then connects up to the switch). I do not have your year's wiring diagram but it may be Green with tracer for the left hand lamps, green for the right hand, two of each, one to front, one to back.

These same wires (or at least two of them) pass through the bulkhead connector, the large plug on the engine bay side of the bulkhead before going out to the lamps. If you unwrap the loom a bit you will find the same colour wire as your signal lamp.