CJ7 power steering swap - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > CJ7 power steering swap

FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippJeep speedometer gears at rockridge4wd

Unread 01-27-2010, 02:04 PM   #1
teufelhundren
1985 CJ7 

CJ7 power steering swap

Just picked up my 85 CJ7 yesterday... incredibly fun, but a lot of work to do!

first things first however, everything runs great. However I feel like Im driving a HMMWV with worse suspension, or a tractor

A steering upgrade seems to be in order. so, (im new to wrench turning) what parts do I need to get in order to do the conversion.

Thank you all

Derek

teufelhundren is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-27-2010, 04:11 PM   #2
2dswithaCJ5
2012 JK Wrangler 

is it the v6?

Check on Ebay for the parts or a complete system, used. Definitely the best way to go... but you can also part the set up... you'll need-

1. Steering shaft for power steering
2. Steering box with pitman arm
3. hoses
4. steering pump sized for your engine, 6 cylinder or v8
5. brackets to mount the pump to your engine, again specific to 6 cyl. or v8 ( these are the hardest to find as there is NO aftermarket source!
6. and this link to Certifiable's write up...

6 cylinder- certifiablejeep.com - Power Steering Conversion - 258

V8- certifiablejeep.com - Power Steering Conversion - 304
Unread 01-27-2010, 04:18 PM   #3
ARJeepNerd
1981 CJ5