CJ7 gas meter - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 02-26-2013, 10:23 PM Thread Starter
Jclilk
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pembroke Pines
Posts: 91
CJ7 gas meter

Hey, guys i got a problem with my gas meter on my speedometer, I changed the speedometer thinking the gas meter was busted than i changed the sending unit but still the meter doesnt move. Any advice? on what i can do to read how much gas i got please help!! ive been driving without reading gas for the past 4 years. and yeas ive been strainded multiple times

Jclilk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 02-27-2013, 02:58 AM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 15,521
John Strenk is online now  
post #3 of 21 Old 02-27-2013, 05:54 AM
Ivehad4
Registered User
1978 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: salem
Posts: 133
You'll also likely need to "calibrate" the sending unit. A process that requires bending the float wire until the gas level and the gage agree.

1978 CJ7 304/T150
1959 Willys CJ5 F4/T90
1995 XJ 4.0
1998 TJ 4.0
Ivehad4 is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 02-27-2013, 11:29 AM
waterdowg
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: nj
Posts: 2,393
Does your Temp Guage work?
waterdowg is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 02-27-2013, 04:13 PM Thread Starter
Jclilk
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pembroke Pines
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
I would check to see if it's getting power. It could be the fuse is blown.
And always check your grounds
wheres the fuse for that?
Jclilk is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 02-27-2013, 04:14 PM Thread Starter
Jclilk
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pembroke Pines
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivehad4 View Post
You'll also likely need to "calibrate" the sending unit. A process that requires bending the float wire until the gas level and the gage agree.
i bught the mopar one for the 20gallon tank so i really dont think i have to
Jclilk is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 02-27-2013, 04:16 PM Thread Starter
Jclilk
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pembroke Pines
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by waterdowg View Post
Does your Temp Guage work?
yea my temp works but i relocated it onto the side of the glove box with an auto meter, so it doesnt work from the speedometer anymore
Jclilk is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 02-27-2013, 04:31 PM
Noplainsdrifter
Registered User
1974 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hillsboro
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jclilk View Post
yea my temp works but i relocated it onto the side of the glove box with an auto meter, so it doesnt work from the speedometer anymore
This is your problem, IIRC, they are tied together somehow. They are both on the same circut. I just remember that I had to replace both to get the gas guage to work.

It's a Jeep Thing, Chrysler Doesn't Understand!
Noplainsdrifter is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 02-27-2013, 07:05 PM
dg6772
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Muskegon
Posts: 2,047
I believe on the back of the unit there is a flat jumper from one guage to the other.... may be missing or if one guage is shorted the other would or could be affected.

Just a thought

From Dave G. in Muskegon
dg6772 is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 02-27-2013, 09:16 PM Thread Starter
Jclilk
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pembroke Pines
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noplainsdrifter View Post
This is your problem, IIRC, they are tied together somehow. They are both on the same circut. I just remember that I had to replace both to get the gas guage to work.
IIRC? so what should i do cause my the temp works perfectly
Jclilk is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 02-28-2013, 02:07 AM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 15,521
John Strenk is online now  
post #12 of 21 Old 02-28-2013, 09:11 AM
Noplainsdrifter
Registered User
1974 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hillsboro
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jclilk View Post
IIRC? so what should i do cause my the temp works perfectly
IIRC, If I Recall


You said that you relocated the temp gauge using a aftermarket gauge, right? The one next to the gas gauge doesn't work, correct? That is the one I'm referring to. Both the gas and temp gauge in the speedo cluster are tied to together, I think if there is no power to the temp gauge, the gas gauge won't work either. At least that's how my 74 works.

It's a Jeep Thing, Chrysler Doesn't Understand!
Noplainsdrifter is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 02-28-2013, 10:14 AM
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 15,521
John Strenk is online now  
post #14 of 21 Old 02-28-2013, 10:17 AM
Noplainsdrifter
Registered User
1974 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hillsboro
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
IIRC That's how they all work on these years.

(If I Recall Correctly....)
I was close, I still can't recall much... Getting old

It's a Jeep Thing, Chrysler Doesn't Understand!
Noplainsdrifter is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 02-28-2013, 11:47 AM
stroked383z28
Registered User
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tx
Posts: 24
Not how it works. The fuel gauge gets 12 volts first and then feeds voltage over to the temp gauge. The fuel gauge will work regardless of whether or not the temp gauge is present. The problem could be one of several things. You will need to check the following things to narrow it down.
1. Check you are getting 12 volts at the red wire connected to the fuel gauge. (I terminal)
2. Check that the speedometer housing has a good connection to ground.
3. Check that the gas tank sending unit has a good connection to ground.
4. Check that the resistance on the pink wire connected to the fuel gauge is appropriate for the amount of fuel in the tank. 10 ohms full, 73 ohms empty. (S terminal)
If that all checks out then it would be a problem with the gauge not grounded to the speedometer housing or the gauge itself.

76 CJ5 Renegade, 304, T150, 3.54 gears, 30x9.5 AT's
stroked383z28 is offline  
Reply

Tags
gas gauge , gas pump

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome