CJ7 gas meter - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > CJ7 gas meter

JK specific skid plates from Clayton Off Road Mfg.RCV Heavy Duty Axle Shafts Now Shipping at Baseline4x4.comStainless Steel Door Hinge Pins

Reply
Unread 02-26-2013, 10:23 PM   #1
Jclilk
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 91
CJ7 gas meter

Hey, guys i got a problem with my gas meter on my speedometer, I changed the speedometer thinking the gas meter was busted than i changed the sending unit but still the meter doesnt move. Any advice? on what i can do to read how much gas i got please help!! ive been driving without reading gas for the past 4 years. and yeas ive been strainded multiple times

Jclilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-27-2013, 02:58 AM   #2
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 12,661
I would check to see if it's getting power. It could be the fuse is blown.
And always check your grounds
John Strenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-27-2013, 05:54 AM   #3
Ivehad4
Registered User
1978 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: salem, VA
Posts: 133
You'll also likely need to "calibrate" the sending unit. A process that requires bending the float wire until the gas level and the gage agree.
__________________
1978 CJ7 304/T150
1959 Willys CJ5 F4/T90
1995 XJ 4.0
1998 TJ 4.0
Ivehad4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-27-2013, 11:29 AM   #4
waterdowg
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: nj
Posts: 2,144
Does your Temp Guage work?
waterdowg is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-27-2013, 04:13 PM   #5
Jclilk
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
I would check to see if it's getting power. It could be the fuse is blown.
And always check your grounds
wheres the fuse for that?
Jclilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-27-2013, 04:14 PM   #6
Jclilk
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivehad4 View Post
You'll also likely need to "calibrate" the sending unit. A process that requires bending the float wire until the gas level and the gage agree.
i bught the mopar one for the 20gallon tank so i really dont think i have to
Jclilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-27-2013, 04:16 PM   #7
Jclilk
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by waterdowg View Post
Does your Temp Guage work?
yea my temp works but i relocated it onto the side of the glove box with an auto meter, so it doesnt work from the speedometer anymore
Jclilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-27-2013, 04:31 PM   #8
Noplainsdrifter
Registered User
1974 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hillsboro, Or
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jclilk View Post
yea my temp works but i relocated it onto the side of the glove box with an auto meter, so it doesnt work from the speedometer anymore
This is your problem, IIRC, they are tied together somehow. They are both on the same circut. I just remember that I had to replace both to get the gas guage to work.
__________________
It's a Jeep Thing, Chrysler Doesn't Understand!
Noplainsdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-27-2013, 07:05 PM   #9
dg6772
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Muskegon, Michigan
Posts: 955
I believe on the back of the unit there is a flat jumper from one guage to the other.... may be missing or if one guage is shorted the other would or could be affected.

Just a thought

From Dave G. in Muskegon
dg6772 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-27-2013, 09:16 PM   #10
Jclilk
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noplainsdrifter View Post
This is your problem, IIRC, they are tied together somehow. They are both on the same circut. I just remember that I had to replace both to get the gas guage to work.
IIRC? so what should i do cause my the temp works perfectly
Jclilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-28-2013, 02:07 AM   #11
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 12,661
fuse is in the fuse bog labeled IGN.

did you click on any of the link in my signature?
John Strenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-28-2013, 09:11 AM   #12
Noplainsdrifter
Registered User
1974 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hillsboro, Or
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jclilk View Post
IIRC? so what should i do cause my the temp works perfectly
IIRC, If I Recall


You said that you relocated the temp gauge using a aftermarket gauge, right? The one next to the gas gauge doesn't work, correct? That is the one I'm referring to. Both the gas and temp gauge in the speedo cluster are tied to together, I think if there is no power to the temp gauge, the gas gauge won't work either. At least that's how my 74 works.
__________________
It's a Jeep Thing, Chrysler Doesn't Understand!
Noplainsdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-28-2013, 10:14 AM   #13
John Strenk
Moderator
 
John Strenk's Avatar
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Shalersville Ohio
Posts: 12,661
IIRC That's how they all work on these years.

(If I Recall Correctly....)
John Strenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-28-2013, 10:17 AM   #14
Noplainsdrifter
Registered User
1974 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hillsboro, Or
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Strenk View Post
IIRC That's how they all work on these years.

(If I Recall Correctly....)
I was close, I still can't recall much... Getting old
__________________
It's a Jeep Thing, Chrysler Doesn't Understand!
Noplainsdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-28-2013, 11:47 AM   #15
stroked383z28
Registered User
1976 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tx
Posts: 24
Not how it works. The fuel gauge gets 12 volts first and then feeds voltage over to the temp gauge. The fuel gauge will work regardless of whether or not the temp gauge is present. The problem could be one of several things. You will need to check the following things to narrow it down.
1. Check you are getting 12 volts at the red wire connected to the fuel gauge. (I terminal)
2. Check that the speedometer housing has a good connection to ground.
3. Check that the gas tank sending unit has a good connection to ground.
4. Check that the resistance on the pink wire connected to the fuel gauge is appropriate for the amount of fuel in the tank. 10 ohms full, 73 ohms empty. (S terminal)
If that all checks out then it would be a problem with the gauge not grounded to the speedometer housing or the gauge itself.
__________________
76 CJ5 Renegade, 304, T150, 3.54 gears, 30x9.5 AT's
stroked383z28 is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.