CJ5 motor swap? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > CJ5 motor swap?

GEARSHADE Pocket Tops in stock and available at ROCKRIDGE Artec JK Under Armor BellypanEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 09-08-2003, 11:31 AM   #1
bamafan

CJ5 motor swap?

I recently purchased an '83 CJ5 with an unrepairable 4cyl-151, with a T-5 tranny and the Dana300 transfer. I was thinking of putting in a Ford 302. Is this a feasable option and will the tranny hold up? I've read where the Ford engine and the tranny bolt pattern is the same. Correct? I'm new to the Jeep world and not very knowledgable in mechanics (am learning) so any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

bamafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-08-2003, 01:34 PM   #2
MudLover

The T-5 doesn't stand a chance behind the 302. That particular T-5 is designed for use with the 4 cylinder and is not interchangable with the one used on the 6 cylinders (not that that matters here, just thought I'd throw it out). I have seen people do these swaps, but they aren't nearly as "easy" to do as the Chevy swaps. There have been a lot more parts made for the Chevy swaps to make them just that much easier. I'd say get rid of the engine and tranny, but keep that Dana 300. When upgrading to a V8, you may want to look into solid axles for the rear. The AMC 20 can only take so much on those 2-peice axles. I think the Ford 5.0 engines out of Mustangs and Explorers look pretty sweet under the hood of a Jeep, but like I said, Chevy swaps are said to be a much easier job.

Hope that helps,
Marc
[B][COLOR=darkred]Red Jeep Club Member #2[/COLOR][/B]
MudLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-08-2003, 06:22 PM   #3
bamafan