CJ5 and CJ7 comparison - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > CJ5 and CJ7 comparison

Building a Bumper?Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Unread 04-15-2012, 06:29 PM   #1
thartleystj
1999 TJ Wrangler 

CJ5 and CJ7 comparison

Hello all! I am new to CJ world and I am trying to decide between a later model CJ5 and a CJ7. So with this post I'm asking all you CJ owners what are the pros and cons of each and which do you prefer? I like the shortness and overall look of the body on the CJ5 but I like that there are more aftermarket parts available for the CJ7...so again I ask what's the pros and cons of each and which do you prefer? Thanks in advance

Sincerely,
CJ Noob

Unread 04-15-2012, 06:42 PM   #2
clydegoat
2005 TJ Wrangler 

mostly be what you like, pretty well the same mech. in both jeeps, just the 5 is little shorter, like me I like the looks of the 7 better, I like the bigger door opening in the 7. seems like you can get the 5's a little cheaper, think the 7's are more popular(supply and demand I guess). engines, trannys, rear ends all the same for the comparable year. 7's with the longer wheel base give you a little more room to work with if you want to add things(or have one with) and auto. tranny. hoods, grills, windshield frames will swap. just differant body.
clydegoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-15-2012, 06:46 PM   #3
BagusJeep
Web Wheeler

1981 CJ7 

If you are going to use it as a DD you may find the longer wheelbase will make it less twitchy and the slight increase in space is welcome. The CJ7 also can be found with a hardtop and steel doors which makes it more practical as a DD. There is slightly more legroom for the passengers.