CJ Tea Kettle Squeal at idle and low RPMs - Page 3 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > CJ Tea Kettle Squeal at idle and low RPMs

~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippMagnaflow SS Cat Back Exhaust System, Street, High Clearan

Unread 09-20-2013, 08:07 AM   #31
rollmodel1
1979 CJ5 

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Xtreme View Post
Doesn't sound like a belt squeal to me.

Water pump?

You definitely want to try the garden hose trick to at least locate the general area it is coming from before yous tart throwing parts at it.

...just be careful of rotating parts.
I'll try that this weekend and let you know. I've never done that before. Just take the hose and use it like a stethoscope around the engine right? Then i should be able to pin point where it is comming from?

rollmodel1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-20-2013, 08:22 AM   #32
bradleybrb

1975 CJ5 

Can't help you with the garden hose trick. I have never done it. I agree with the other guys. I don't think it's a vacuum leak. Mine didn't sound like that. I could still be the belt, but maybe not. I would double check it. Check the width of the belt too. I had one that no matter how tight I got it, it would still squeal a little. Come to find out the parts store had given me one the right length, but it was just a touch narrower and didn't fit exactly like it was supposed to in the pulley. I was in a hurry when I put it on and didn't notice it. In fact I didn't notice it until I was telling a friend about how I had tightened it several times and he noticed it.
bradleybrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-20-2013, 09:03 AM   #33
rollmodel1
1979 CJ5 

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleybrb View Post