cj stalling - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > cj stalling

The NEW Revolution Gear and Axle from 4LowParts.comTHE NEW! VANCO DUAL MODE 15/16″ Big Brake Kit w/BlaEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 05-20-2003, 12:20 PM   #1
daytoncj

cj stalling

the past three days my cj has been stalling out almost immediately when i come to a stop. whenever i push in the clutch the tach needle drops and it stalls out. i checked the carb, and the choke butterfly was sticking open. after i cleaned it, it shuts. however, when i was manually pushing the throttle the butterfly did not hardly open or close. someone please help. im not good with carbs and i believe this is the main problem. thanks.

daytoncj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-20-2003, 12:50 PM   #2
CJeep
Alpha dog

1982 CJ8 

Do a search here and on google with carter, stall, idle, etc.. They are famous for what you describe. Easy fix by drilling out the idle tubes a hair.

2004 Grand Limited 4.7 HO - OH Boy!

2010 Grand Laredo 5.7 Hemi - SICK - work vehicle -gone - replaced by an 08 Tahoe - nice ride.

"Both my Doberman and my Jeep can accurately be described as 'black and rust.'"

"I got a fever . . . and the only prescription is more cowbell"
CJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-20-2003, 01:14 PM   #3
daytoncj

well ive heard of this on the carter carb on the 258 but i have the 304. i know its probably the same type of problem but i need someone with knowledge of the stock motorcraft carb. i did a search everywhere and it always gives me results for a 258. thanks. later.
daytoncj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-20-2003, 02:16 PM   #4
explortainment