JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   Jeep CJ Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/)
-   -   CJ 7 Steering "body roll?" (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/cj-7-steering-body-roll-1544114/)

chrisfuel 07-02-2013 04:24 PM

CJ 7 Steering "body roll?"

Im new to the form. I have a 1985 CJ and just installed a 4" OME heavy duty lift, 32" X 11" BFG's, new steering box, dropped pitman arm, Skyjacker stabilizer, caster adjusted etc. I seem to be getting good steering but as I turn the chassis goes one way and the body seems to lag behind causing me to over correct when it catches up. Don’t know how else to describe it. Is this body roll? It gets really dangerous at highway speeds with cross winds and passing. Do I need to install a swaybar kit? thanks

CJ7-Tim 07-02-2013 04:42 PM

Driving a lifted 4x4 often requires one to drive differently than when in a stock 4x4.

A functional front sway bar is very highly recommended, especially if you have any accident avoidance or other emergency driving maneuvers scheduled in the near future.

chrisfuel 07-02-2013 04:54 PM

good call. thanks....others?

robs7 07-02-2013 05:19 PM

X2 on the sway bar. Make sure the links for that bar are the right length do to the lift. Also, I'm assuming that you put all new bushings throughout your springs and shackles? Loose shackles, extended shackles, and or worn bushings can cause that feeling as well. My two cents. Rob

MoC 07-02-2013 05:41 PM

I have a 4.5" suspension lift, 1" body lift, and run 36" swampers. With the sway bar disconnected I feel little differance.

X2 on the worn bushings.

Oily 07-02-2013 09:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chrisfuel (Post 15633793)
I have a 1985 CJ and just installed a 4" OME heavy duty lift, 32" X 11" BFG's, ...

Quite a lift. Which requires much longer (than a 2.5 lift) shackles.

Why do some shackles have braces welded in while others donít?