CJ-7 stalls when braking - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > CJ-7 stalls when braking

Dual Color LED Light Bars White/AmberFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitTHE NEW! VANCO DUAL MODE 15/16″ Big Brake Kit w/Bla

Unread 09-28-2008, 03:58 PM   #1
ericleach
1984 CJ7 

CJ-7 stalls when braking

I have an 84 CJ-7. When I bought it the idle was set high to correct a stalling problem. If I set the idle to factory setting it will stall when the brakes are applied. I'm no mechanic, but I've been able to figure out a few problems by reading the manuals and getting advsie from the internet and I was hoping that someone would be able to help. Everything I find seems to point to a faulty brake booster, but let me know what you think. Thanks for helping out a "mechanic" in training.

Eric.

ericleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2008, 04:25 PM   #2
Mike Romain
1986 CJ7 

Does it stall when you are moving and hit the brakes or when it is stationary?
Some Canadian Bush Jeep Runs and Build Photos: http://mikeromainjeeptrips.shutterfly.com (10 new albums added Sept 16/10)
Mike Romain is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2008, 05:03 PM   #3
Face
2005 LJ Wrangler 

When mine was doing that it was the factory BBD carb. I threw that thing in a box and installed a Motorcraft carb with no regrets.
Face is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2008, 06:11 PM   #4
NH2112
Web Wheeler
1990 YJ Wrangler 

Take a look at the check valve on the booster and the vacuum line running to it from the carb.

'90 YJ w/4.2l & 4.0l head, Weber carb, 5-speed, 4" RC lift, 33x10.5x15 BFG MT KM2s.
NH2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2008, 06:26 PM   #5
ericleach
1984 CJ7