CJ-5 won't start - complete novice - Page 4 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > CJ-5 won't start - complete novice

End of Summer Sale, 20% OFF!2007 - 2011 Jeep JK Long Arm Lift KitsIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 04-14-2014, 12:40 PM   #46
sabbyATL
1974 CJ5 

Quote:
Originally Posted by LumpyGrits View Post
Lock'n gas cap on a jeep is a joke.
I can cut the exposed filler hose inside your fender-well, then insert a garden hose and your gas is now mine.
LG

I don't doubt it's easy. But it doesn't seem to happen very often around here. Anyway, you'd have to get past my dog. He's actually friendly but he barks viciously when people approach the house. Scares the hell out of them. If they only knew that as soon as they got up to him he'd just lick them.

I mean, I do live in the city. Crime happens. But according to the neighborhood newsletter it's outright car theft, breaking in to steal radios, computers, money. I've never seen gasatheft.

sabbyATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-14-2014, 12:42 PM   #47
sabbyATL
1974 CJ5 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt1981CJ7 View Post
Not if Jen pops a cap in your fat hairy arse from her back window.
Ha! Yes, I do have a couple handguns.

But he'd get away with it because I'd have to get them out the safe first. Then load them. He'd be long gone before I could remember the combination to the safe.
Unread 04-14-2014, 12:45 PM   #48
Mike Romain
1986 CJ7 

Do you know what kind of electronic ignition it is?

I am figuring when the starter got stuck in the flywheel, it turned into a generator back feeding through the fender solenoid keeping the coil and ignition turned on until you stalled it out.