CJ-5 won't start - complete novice - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep CJ Forum > CJ-5 won't start - complete novice

RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all ECGS Black Friday Sale!!6th Annual, Beat Your Wife to the Credit Card Sale!

Unread 04-13-2014, 06:25 PM   #1
sabbyATL
1974 CJ5 

CJ-5 won't start - complete novice

Hi, my name is Jen.

So, first things first - I am a complete novice with CJs and a mostly novice with wrenching. My experience can be summed up with changing out the suspension on my old Ford minivan and changing spark plugs on an old Z280 and on my new CJ-5.

Second, I can't start my Jeep.

Yesterday I bought my first Jeep, a 1974 CJ-5 with AMC 304 V8. It has power steering, upgraded to power brakes and electric ignition.

I bought the Jeep from a man who is a professional mechanic. I can post photos, if the forum will let me. It looks real clean and nice in the engine bay.

Anyway, it drove wonderfully yesterday. I drove it home on backroads then picked up my 13-year-old son and his friend and took them cruising around for a couple hours. It ran wonderfully. If I stopped somewhere it started right back up.

When I went to park it I did a boneheaded thing. I have no idea why I did this, either, because it shouldn't even be instinct. I am chalking it up to a moment of motor moronity.

Anyway, instead of turning the key to OFF I turned it to RUN.

It did the expected nasty grinding noice and then it suddenly it made a noice like the motor revving really high, but constant.

I tried to turn the Jeep off but it wouldn't turn off. So, I stalled it out to get the motor to kill.

This morning it wouldn't start. It would turn over but not fire.